INTERVIEW
BY BRENDAN EMBSER

Why Deborah Willis Thinks the Photobook Can Be Transformative

Brendan Embser is senior managing editor of Aperture magazine.

In 1973, Dr. Deborah Willis, then an undergraduate photography student at the Philadelphia College of Art (UArts), submitted an independent research proposal about the contributions of Black photographers to the history of American photography from 1840 to 1940. Willis had sent fifty letters to various collections and libraries, seeking information about photographers such as Gordon Parks and James Van Der Zee. “Is a photographer primarily a creative artist rather than a mere recorder?” she asked. “Could these black photographers receive the same recognition their white colleagues received?” Across her prolific career as an archivist, historian, professor, and photographer, Willis has answered these questions about recognition through her groundbreaking studies of Black photographers, her contribution to numerous photobooks, and her support over the years of artists and writers seeking to make space for an expanded, more inclusive history of the medium.

            But, for all of the publishers who supported her quest enthusiastically, Willis, the guest editor of this issue of The PhotoBook Review, also encountered editors who clung to dated narratives about photography and race. No one said changing minds would be easy, yet Willis was determined. She would go on to win Guggenheim and MacArthur Fellowships, and become a revered professor at New York University, where she is now chair of the Department of Photography and Imaging at the Tisch School of the Arts. Willis recently spoke with Brendan Embser, her former graduate student at NYU and editor of recent Aperture monographs on Deana Lawson and Ming Smith, about her earliest encounters with photobooks and how the photobook as a medium continues to be transformative.

Deborah Willis, Untitled, 2010
Courtesy the artist

Brendan Embser: When we were launching Deana Lawson’s Aperture monograph two years ago, she gave this beautiful speech. She said she hoped that one day, a young woman would come to the library in Rochester, New York, where she grew up, and discover her book. Her vision was about sharing. That moment, which I found so moving, reminded me of you and your stories about growing up in your mother’s beauty shop in Philadelphia and sharing magazines like Jet. When it comes to photobooks, did you have an experience of going to the library or bookshop and feeling transported by a single book?

Deborah Willis: Yes, I was seven years old. It was Roy DeCarava and Langston Hughes’s The Sweet Flypaper of Life [Simon & Schuster, 1955]. We had to pick a library book every week growing up, and I just discovered that book visually. I saw it on the shelf and I took it home. I was so fascinated with the beauty of the light in the photographs. I could see that the lighting and the woman were so beautiful. The bare bulbs in the kitchen. It was intimate; it looked like love. That’s how I grew up, with my family. It was always about love.

BE: Did you think of the book as a distinct experience visually from the magazines that you were looking at?

DW: Then, I didn’t. But the connection for me with that book, and with magazines—Black magazines—was the experience of seeing Black people in print. We had National Geographic, which was a different way of seeing Black people, mainly in Africa. But to see Ebony magazine, and Jet, and Bronze, and Hue, and all of the magazines that my parents subscribed to—this was a part of the spectrum, the experience.

Cover and spread from Harlem on My Mind: Cultural Capital of Black America, 1900–1968 (Random House, 1968)

BE: Do you remember the first photobook you ever bought for yourself?

DW: The first photobook I bought was the catalogue to the Metropolitan Museum of Art exhibition Harlem on My Mind [Random House, 1968]. The second book was The Black Photographers Annual [1973–80]. That was really major for me. I was an undergraduate student, looking for a way to examine the history of Black photographers, but also trying to recognize that there was more than what I found in my photo-history books.

BE: When you worked as an archivist at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in Harlem, did the Schomburg make a point of collecting photobooks at that time?

DW: I was conducting research at the Schomburg Center in the mid-’70s, and they didn’t collect photobooks specifically; however, there were numerous pictorials on Black life in the collection. And, there was The Black Book [Random House, 1974] by Toni Morrison, which had photographs in it. I discovered that at the Schomburg. Five years later, when I was hired to be the photo specialist and then became the photo curator there, I saw the gap. I noticed that there was something that I needed to do with organizing and creating the “bio-bibliography,” which would eventually be the first book that I did, Black Photographers 1840–1940: An Illustrated Bio-bibliography [Garland, 1985].

BE: Were you also acquiring books and objects for the Schomburg? And did you make a point of collecting artists’ monographs, or would that have been the library’s job?

DW: Yes, I was lucky enough to work with Ruth Ann Stewart, and with Jean Blackwell Hutson—both headed the Schomburg. Ruth was helpful in guiding me through, allowing me to create books that could be used in the archives, where photos were held, but also for the general library, which researches used.

Spread from The Black Photographer’s Annual, Vol. 1 (1973), with photographs by Ming Smith

BE: How were you able to find publishers for your own books?

DW: I had an angel. His name was Richard Newman and he worked at Garland Publishing, which created books on African American histories. Within a month of starting at the Schomburg, Dick called me up and asked me if I would like to do a book on Black photographers. And I said, “Well, I have an undergraduate research paper.” And he said, “Send it to me.” He told me we should create a book that was a resource list of photographers. In the end, I had over three hundred names in there. And that was the beginning—the bio-bibliography from 1840 to 1940. And it was so successful that he asked if I wanted to do another one, and I did, extending that history from 1940 to 1988.

BE: In addition to these historical studies, you’ve also worked on artists’ monographs. Do you have a favorite from your early career?

DW: In the early 1990s, Andy Grundberg, at the Friends of Photography in San Francisco, called me and said, “I’d like you to do a book on any photographer. Who would you like to do it on?” I said, “Lorna Simpson.” I was really excited to have that opportunity to meet with Lorna, interview her, create that book at a crucial time in both of our careers and lives. That was Lorna Simpson [Friends of Photography, 1992].

BE: It sounds like you had key supporters at the beginning of your career. But did you get pushback too?

DW: Sometimes, publishers battled with me and didn’t believe the history. For my book on Van Der Zee [VanDerZee: Photographer, 1886–1983, Abrams/National Portrait Gallery, 1993], I saved the letters that they sent to me, where they said I was inflating his contributions to the field.

BE: What exactly would they say?

DW: Here’s one: “On pages 3/4—Here I feel she inflates Van Der Zee’s achievement. Certainly, others of his time with not much more sophistication or training, accomplished similar technical results. Moreover, such earlier photographers as O. G. Reijlander (to whom she refers later on) used combined-image printing, so Van Der Zee cannot be credited with innovation here. The superlatives (‘astonishing’) need to be toned down.” Or this: “No evidence is given that Van Der Zee possessed issues of Camera Work or otherwise acquainted himself with the work of Strand, Stieglitz, and the photo secessionists. Therefore, it is dangerous to associate his work with new developments in photographic aesthetics, except insofar as it shares a spirit. The problem for me is that I do not find this shared spirit in Van Der Zee’s work . . . One of the unique and potentially most valuable aspects of Deborah’s approach to Van Der Zee’s work is that she deals with it in terms of ethnic consciousness.” [Laughs]

BE: The word dangerous—I mean, what is that about?

DW: I know, it’s amazing. The battles I’ve had in publishing had a lot to do with the narratives that people wanted to hold onto. Here is another: “I do not consider Van Der Zee’s photographs radical cultural intervention. Van Der Zee’s photographs didn’t change the way things were: they recorded it. What was surprising, I think, to many white viewers who grew up in a segregated world is that there is this strong, mainstream, upper-middle class tradition that has deep roots in the nineteenth century. It is more about being upper-middle class, irrespective of color.” I could go on and on.

BE: When you look at the contemporary art world and art publishing right now, after all the work you’ve done, what do you think that publishers can do to better support Black artists and the range of visions that they have for publishing?

DW: I think the dialogue is really important, what’s happening now. And that discussion increases when we have editors who are sensitive not only to Black photographers in the West, but also look through the lens of African photography, through Asian photography, Latinx, Native American, with a much more critical eye, and to know that there are vital books that need to be encountered.

Sergeant Andrew Martin Chandler of the Forty-Fourth Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company F, and Silas Chandler, servant, with Bowie knives, revolvers, pepper-box, shotgun, and canteen, ca. 1861–63
Courtesy the Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, and NYU Press

BE: Do you want to say something about your new project The Black Civil War Soldier: A Visual History of Conflict and Citizenship [New York University Press, 2021]?

DW: I’ve been working on this for the past seven years, looking at the experiences of personal memory and public memory, and how photography shaped the history of the presence of Black Civil War soldiers. I wanted to find photographs, letters, and diary pages of Black people who were teachers, preachers, women who were teachers and nurses, Black soldiers who were part of the fight for their own freedom. When I was in school, we didn’t have that discussion. We didn’t talk about Black Civil War soldiers. We didn’t know who fought. And the fact was, there was a strong history that basically was ignored.

I write that the notion of resistance and recovering stories is key to the image of Black soldiers. Cultural historian Alan Trachtenberg wrote that the role of African Americans in the struggle against slavery has been long repressed by guardians of official “privileged versions” of the American past. Racial prejudice has been the major cause of the expunging and erasure of the role of Blacks in determining their own future—and this erasure remains in the interest of some groups invested in continuing and preserving racial inequality.

I wanted to respond to the question of how Black male identity is formed through the photographic image. I found an amazing collection of images at Yale, in Boston, in DC, and here in New York. These collections are available, the photographs are there. Now, there’s an opportunity for people to see that there was a Black presence in the war.

Carrie Mae Weems, While Sitting upon the Ruins of Your Remains, I Pondered the Course of History, 2016–17
Courtesy the artist and Jack Shainman Gallery, New York

BE: One last question for you. This is like a variation on the BBC Radio program Desert Island Discs. So you have three books, and you’re going off to the desert island: one for your granddaughter, Zenzi; one for your son, Hank Willis Thomas; and one for yourself. What are they?

DW: For my granddaughter to read with her mother, Rujeko, I really love this book called My Mommy Medicine by Edwidge Danticat [2019]. It has pictures, illustrations, text. The narrative is about a child in need of comfort and assurance. I would definitely give Hank, Gordon Parks’s Collected Works: Study Edition [Steidl, 2017]. And I would take with me Carrie Mae Weems: Three Decades of Photography and Video [Yale University Press, 2012]. It has all of what I love, and it gives the opportunity of seeing, witnessing the Sea Islands, Africa, Europe, experiencing performance, but also looking at folklore and memory. I would spend my time with that on an island, encouraged to create more work, and I would just love that moment.

This piece originally was published in Issue 018 of The PhotoBook Review.

  • Deborah Willis, Reflections in Black: A History of Black Photographers, 1840 to the Present (W. W. Norton & Company, 2000)

ENTRETIEN

Deborah Willis :
le livre photo a le pouvoir de faire bouger les lignes

Entretien avec Brendan Embser, rédacteur en chef du magazine Aperture.

En 1973, Dr Deborah Willis, alors étudiante en photographie au Philadelphia College of Art (UArts), soumettait une proposition de recherche sur la contribution des photographes noirs à l’histoire de la photographie américaine de 1840 à 1940. Willis envoya une cinquantaine de lettres à diverses collections et bibliothèques, à la recherche d’informations sur des photographes tels que Gordon Parks et James Van Der Zee. « Un photographe est-il avant tout un artiste créatif plutôt qu’un simple enregistreur ? » s’interrogea-t-elle. « Ces photographes noirs pourraient-ils profiter d’une reconnaissance comparable à celle dont bénéficient leurs collègues blancs ? » Tout au long de sa prolifique carrière d’archiviste, d’historienne, de professeure et de photographe, Deborah Willis a répondu à ces questions de reconnaissance à travers ses études sur les photographes noirs. Par ses contributions à de nombreux livres, son soutien à leurs auteurs, elle a considérablement élargi la place des artistes et écrivains noirs dans une histoire élargie et plus inclusive du médium.

Et si de nombreux éditeurs l’ont soutenu avec enthousiasme dans sa quête, Willis, éditrice invitée de ce numéro du PhotoBook Review, en a également rencontré d’autres qui s’accrochaient à des récits datés sur la photographie et la question raciale. Personne n’a dit que changer les mentalités serait simple, mais Willis était déterminée, remportant les bourses Guggenheim et MacArthur avant de devenir une professeure vénérée à l’Université de New York, où elle dirige aujourd’hui le Département de photographie et d’imagerie à la Tisch School of the Arts. Willis s’est récemment entretenue avec Brendan Embser, son ancien étudiant diplômé de l’Université de New York et éditeur des récentes monographies Aperture sur Deana Lawson et Ming Smith, à propos de ses premières rencontres avec le livre photo et comment ce dernier, en tant que médium, continue d’être profondément significatif.

Deborah Willis, Untitled, 2010
Courtesy the artist

Brendan Embser : À l’occasion du lancement de sa monographie chez Aperture il y a deux ans, Deana Lawson a prononcé un beau discours. Elle a raconté comment elle espérait qu’un jour une jeune femme se rendrait à la bibliothèque de Rochester, New York, où elle a grandi, et découvrirait son livre. Sa vision était celle du partage. Ce moment, que j’ai trouvé si émouvant, m’a fait penser à vous et à vos histoires d’enfance dans l’institut de beauté de votre mère à Philadelphie où vous partagiez la lecture de magazines comme Jet. En matière de livres photo, avez-vous personnellement vécu cette expérience de vous rendre à la bibliothèque ou dans une librairie, et de vous sentir transportée par un livre particulier ?

Deborah Willis : Oui, j’avais sept ans. Et il s’agissait de TheSweet Flypaper of Life deRoy DeCarava et Langston Hughes [Simon & Schuster, 1955]. À l’époque, nous devions choisir un livre de bibliothèque chaque semaine, et j’ai découvert ainsi ce livre visuellement. Je l’ai vu sur l’étagère et je l’ai apporté à la maison. J’étais tellement fascinée par la beauté de la lumière dans les photographies. Les ampoules à nu dans la cuisine. C’était intime, on aurait dit de l’amour. J’ai grandi comme cela avec ma famille. Il a toujours été question d’amour.

BE: Vous semblait-il déjà à l’époque que le livre proposait une expérience différente visuellement de celle des magazines que vous feuilletiez ?

DW: Pas à l’époque. Mais ce qui m’avait frappé alors, y compris dans les revues – les magazines pour les Noirs – était de voir effectivement des Noirs en imprimé. Il y avait bien National Geographic, qui proposait une façon différente de présenter les Noirs, principalement en Afrique. Mais le fait de les voir dans les magazines Ebony, Jet, Bronze, ou encore Hue, et toutes les autres revues auxquelles mes parents ont pu s’abonner – tout cela faisait partie d’un même spectre, de l’expérience.

Couverture et double page intérieure de Harlem on My Mind: Cultural Capital of Black America, 1900–1968 (Random House, 1968)

BE : Vous souvenez-vous du premier livre photo que vous avez acheté pour vous-même ?

DW : C’était le catalogue de l’exposition Harlem on My Mind au Metropolitan Museum [Random House, 1968]. Le deuxième livre fut The Black Photographers Annual [1973-1980]. Ce fut très important pour moi. J’étais une étudiante en premier cycle cherchant le moyen d’examiner l’histoire des photographes Noirs, mais aussi de faire admettre qu’il y avait plus que ce que j’avais trouvé dans mes livres d’histoire de la photographie.

BE : Lorsque vous travailliez comme archiviste au Centre de recherches Schomburg sur la culture Noire à Harlem, cette institution se faisait-elle un devoir de collectionner des livres photo à l’époque ?

DW : J’ai mené des recherches au Centre Schomburg au milieu des années 70, et ils ne collectionnaient pas les livres photo spécifiquement ; il y avait néanmoins une riche imagerie sur la vie des Noirs dans la collection. Et il y avait The Black Book [Random House, 1974] de Toni Morrison qui contenait des photographies. Je l’ai découvert au Schomburg. Cinq ans plus tard, lorsque j’ai été embauchée comme spécialiste de la photo, puis comme conservatrice pour la photographie au centre, j’ai constaté le fossé. Je me suis dit qu’il y avait quelque chose que je devais faire dans l’organisation et la création d’une « bio-bibliographie », ce qui deviendra finalement le premier ouvrage que j’ai publié, Black Photographers 1840-1940: An Illustrated Bio-bibliography [Garland, 1985].

BE : Étiez-vous aussi en charge des acquisitions, de livres ou d’objets, pour le Schomburg ? Et cela comprenait-il aussi les monographies d’artistes, ou cela incombait-il à la bibliothèque ?

DW : Oui, j’ai eu la chance de travailler avec Ruth Ann Stewart, et avec Jean Blackwell Hutson, toutes deux à la tête du Schomburg. Ruth m’a beaucoup soutenue, me permettant de créer des livres qui pourraient être utiles aux archives avec des photographies, mais aussi à la bibliothèque générale utilisée par les chercheurs.

Extrait de  The Black Photographer’s Annual, Vol. 1 (1973), avec images de Ming Smith

BE : Comment êtes-vous parvenue à trouver des éditeurs pour vos propres livres ?

DW : J’ai eu un ange à mes côtés. Son nom est Richard Newman ; il travaillait chez Garland Publishing, éditeur d’ouvrages sur les histoires afro-américaines. Moins d’un mois après avoir commencé à travailler au Schomburg, Dick m’appelle et me demande si je voulais faire un livre sur les photographes Noirs. J’ai répondu, « En fait, j’ai écrit un mémoire de recherche de premier cycle. » Et il me répond, « Envoyez-le-moi. » Et il me parle d’écrire un livre de ressources qui recenserait les photographes. En fin de compte, j’ai réuni plus de trois cents noms dans cette liste. C’est ainsi que tout a commencé, avec une bio-bibliographie de 1840 à 1940. Et elle a eu un tel succès qu’il m’a demandé si je voulais en faire une autre, ce que j’ai fait, en prolongeant cette histoire de 1940 à 1988.

BE : Outre ces études historiques, vous avez également travaillé sur des monographies d’artistes. Avez-vous un favori dans vos débuts de carrière ?

DW : Au début des années 1990, Andy Grundberg de Friends of Photography à San Francisco m’appelle et me dit : « J’aimerais que vous fassiez un livre sur n’importe quel photographe. Quel serait-il ? Et j’ai répondu, « Lorna Simpson ». J’étais vraiment enthousiaste à l’idée de rencontrer Lorna, de m’entretenir avec elle, de créer ce livre à un moment crucial dans nos deux carrières et dans nos vies. Et ce fut Lorna Simpson [Friends of Photography, 1992].

BE : Il semble que vous ayez bénéficié de soutiens essentiels au début de votre carrière. Mais avez-vous aussi connu des résistances ?

DW : Parfois, les éditeurs me tenaient tête et ne croyaient pas à cette histoire. J’ai gardé les notes qu’ils m’ont envoyées à l’occasion de mon livre sur Van Der Zee [Van Der Zee: Photographer, 1886–1983, Abrams/National Portrait Gallery, 1993], dans lesquelles ils me disaient que j’exagérais sa contribution au medium.

BE : Que disaient-elles précisément ?

DW : En voici une : « Aux pages 3/4 – Ici, j’ai l’impression qu’elle gonfle les réalisations de Van Der Zee. Certes d’autres, à la même époque, avec à peine plus de sophistication ou de formation, ont accompli des résultats techniques similaires. En outre, des photographes antérieurs comme O. G. Reijlander (à qui elle fait référence un peu plus loin) ont utilisé l’impression d’images combinées, de sorte que Van Der Zee ne peut pas être crédité ici d’innovation. Les superlatifs (‘étonnant’) doivent être atténués. » Ou ceci : « Aucune preuve n’est donnée que Van Der Zee possédait des exemplaires de la revue Camera Work ou qu’il se soit familiarisé avec le travail de Strand, Stieglitz, et les photo secessionnists. Par conséquent, il est dangereux d’associer son travail à de nouveaux développements dans l’esthétique photographique, sauf à dire qu’il en partage l’esprit. Le problème pour moi est que je ne retrouve pas cet esprit partagé dans l’œuvre de Van Der Zee… L’un des aspects uniques et potentiellement le plus précieux de l’approche de Deborah à l’égard du travail de Van Der Zee réside en ce qu’elle l’envisage en termes de conscience ethnique. [Rires]

BE : Le mot dangereux – je veux dire, de quoi parle-t-il ?

DW : Je sais, c’est incroyable. Les batailles que j’ai eu à mener dans l’édition avaient beaucoup à voir avec les récits auxquels les gens voulaient s’accrocher. En voici une autre : « Je ne considère pas les photographies de Van Der Zee comme constituant une intervention culturelle radicale. Les photographies de Van Der Zee n’ont pas changé la façon dont les choses étaient : elles les ont enregistrées. Ce qui, me semble-t-il, a pu surprendre beaucoup de blancs qui avaient grandi dans un monde ségrégué, c’est cette tradition, forte et conventionnelle, des classes moyennes supérieures qui trouve ses racines profondes dans le XIXe siècle. Il y est plutôt question des classes moyennes supérieures que de couleur. » Je pourrais continuer encore et encore.

BE : Quand vous regardez les mondes de l’art et de l’édition d’art actuellement, après tout le travail que vous avez réalisé, selon vous, que pourraient faire les éditeurs pour mieux soutenir les artistes Noirs et l’éventail de leurs visions éditoriales ?

DW : Ce qui est vraiment important, c’est de dialoguer, ce qui se passe actuellement. Et cette discussion sera d’autant plus élargie que nous inclurons des éditeurs qui sont sensibles non seulement aux photographes Noirs en occident, mais aussi dans la photographie africaine, la photographie asiatique, latino-américaine, Amérindienne, avec un œil beaucoup plus critique – sachant qu’il y a des livres essentiels qui doivent être rencontrés.

Sergeant Andrew Martin Chandler of the Forty-Fourth Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company F, and Silas Chandler, servant, with Bowie knives, revolvers, pepper-box, shotgun, and canteen, ca. 1861–63
Courtesy the Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, and NYU Press

BE : Voulez-vous parler un peu de votre nouveau projet, The Black Civil War Soldier: A Visual History of Conflict and Citizenship [New York University Press, 2021] ?

DW : J’y travaille depuis sept ans, explorant les expériences de la mémoire personnelle et de la mémoire collective, et la manière selon laquelle la photographie a façonné l’histoire de la présence des soldats Afro-Américains dans la guerre de Sécession. Je voulais trouver des photos, des lettres et des pages de journaux intimes de Noirs qui furent enseignants, prédicateurs, de femmes, enseignantes ou infirmières, de soldats Noirs, qui avaient participé à la lutte pour leur propre liberté. Nous n’avions pas ce genre de discussion lorsque j’étais étudiante. Nous n’évoquions pas les soldats Noirs de la guerre de Sécession. On ne savait pas qui s’était battu. Le fait est qu’il y avait là une histoire forte et pourtant ignorée.

J’écris que la notion de résistance et la récupération de ces différentes histoires est fondamentale pour l’image des soldats Noirs. L’historien des cultures Alan Trachtenberg écrit que le rôle des Afro-Américains dans la lutte contre l’esclavage a longtemps été minimisée par les gardiens des « versions privilégiées » officielles du passé américain. Les préjugés raciaux ont été la principale cause de l’expurgation et de l’effacement du rôle des Noirs dans la détermination de leur propre avenir – et cet effacement demeure, dans l’intérêt de certains groupes investis dans la poursuite et la préservation des inégalités raciales.

Je voulais répondre à la question de savoir comment l’identité masculine noire se forme à travers l’image photographique. J’ai trouvé d’incroyables collections d’images à Yale, à Boston, à Washington, et à New York. Ces collections sont disponibles, les photographies sont là. Maintenant, chacun peut constater qu’il y avait bien une présence noire dans la guerre.

Carrie Mae Weems, While Sitting upon the Ruins of Your Remains, I Pondered the Course of History, 2016–17
Courtesy the artist and Jack Shainman Gallery, New York

BE : Une dernière question pour vous. Cela ressemble à une variation de l’émission Desert Island Discs sur la BBC. Donc, vous choisissez trois livres avant de vous rendre sur une île déserte : l’un est pour votre petite-fille, Zenzi; le second pour votre fils, Hank Willis Thomas; et le dernier pour vous-même. Que choisiriez-vous ?

DW : Pour que ma petite-fille lise avec sa mère, Rujeko, j’adore ce livre intitulé My Mommy Medicine d’Edwidge Danticat [2019]. Il contient des images, des illustrations, du texte. Il raconte l’histoire d’un enfant qui a besoin d’être réconforté et rassuré. Je retiendrais certainement Collected Works: Study Edition de Gordon Parks [Steidl, 2017] pour Hank. Et je prendrais pour moi Carrie Mae Weems: Three Decades of Photography and Video [Yale University Press, 2012]. Il y a tout ce que j’aime, et il donne l’occasion de voir, de regarder l’Afrique, l’Europe, de vivre des performances, mais aussi de regarder le folklore et la mémoire. Je passerais mon temps avec cela sur une île, encouragée à créer plus de travail, et j’adorerais ce moment.

Cet article est issu du Numéro 018 de The PhotoBook Review, automne 2020

  • Deborah Willis, Reflections in Black: A History of Black Photographers, 1840 to the Present (W. W. Norton & Company, 2000)