loader

Out of stock

delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not

Vietnam, Forget me not

Abbas

Delpire Éditeur

Publication date : 2019/05/02
Weight 650 g / Dimensions 16.5 x 20 cm / 240 pages / text in French
ISBN 9791095821182

“December 1972 […] We visit a refugee camp set up on a former US military base in Da Nang. On the door of a hut made of odds and ends, an awkward tag: Forget ME Not. […] Forty-five years later […] I think it’s time that I too put “Forget ME Not” somewhere.”
Abbas plunges into his contact sheets and gives us an intimate selection of the reportages he made in Vietnam from 1972 to 1975, notably being one of the first photographers to bring back images from Viet-Cong. Deeply marked by this country, he returned there in 2008 and confronts his memories with a new nation that has opened to capitalism.

From Saigon to Hanoi, through the anti-war demonstrations in Miami and the Cuban Non-Aligned Summit, until his return to Vietnam thirty years later, this book brings together photos of the war, but also, and above all, images of cities that the photographer has visited, the faces of those he has met. Beyond the historical and political testimony, Abbas talks about this country which touched him deeply.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

Rupture de stock

delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not
delpire-ABBAS-vietnam-forget-me-not

Vietnam, Forget me not

Abbas

Delpire Éditeur

Date de parution : 02/05/2019
Poids 650 g / Dimensions 16.5 x 20 cm / 240 pages / fr
ISBN 9791095821182

« Décembre 1972 […] Nous visitons un camp de réfugiés installé sur une ancienne base militaire américaine de Da Nang. Sur la porte d’une cabane faite de bric et de broc, un tag maladroit : Forget ME Not. […] Quarante-cinq ans plus tard […] je me dis qu’il est temps que moi aussi j’inscrive « Forget ME Not » quelque part. »

Abbas replonge dans ses planches-contacts et nous livre une sélection intime des reportages qu’il a réalisés au Vietnam de 1972 à 1975, étant notamment l’un des premiers photographes à rapporter des images du Viêt-Cong. Profondément marqué par ce pays, il y retourne en 2008 et confronte ses souvenirs à une nouvelle nation qui s’est ouverte au capitalisme.

De Saigon à Hanoi, en passant par les manifestations antiguerre à Miami et le Sommet des Non-Alignés de Cuba, jusqu’à son retour au Vietnam trente ans plus tard, ce livre regroupe des photos de guerre, mais aussi et surtout des images des villes que le photographe a parcourues, des visages de celles et de ceux qu’il a rencontrés. Au-delà du témoignage historique et politique, Abbas raconte ce pays qui l’a tant touché.

Vous aimerez aussi

Contactez-nous
Nom