loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-cover
The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-visuel-1
The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-visuel-2
The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-visuel-3
The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-visuel-4

The Well

Nigel Shafran

Loose Joints Publishing

Publication date : 2022/04/01
Weight 1150 g / Dimensions 20 x 26.5 cm / 368 pages
ISBN 9781912719358

Featured in our selection(s):

In the world of fashion, ‘The well’ is industry terminology for the main image section of a magazine. For influential British photographer Nigel Shafran, this space has served as a place for unexpected creativity, subversive critique and wry commentary.

Shafran’s relationship with the world of commercial photography begins in the mid-1980s as a teenager, continuing through to the iconic magazine years of i-D and The Face, and into a recent resurgence in his idiosyncratic, unpretentious approach to the fashion shoot within the pages of Vogue and more. Only recently did Shafran — who is known for his delicate, personal approach of weaving together converging photographic narratives — begin to understand his continuous engagement with the commercial world as a project in itself. The Well is a space to critique and reflect the worlds of fashion from the inside, bringing his trademark simplicity and capacity to disarm the viewer into this charged, complicated world.

This landmark publication, edited and designed by Linda van Deursen, chronicles Shafran’s commercial and un-commercial approach to photography, with interviews and reflections between Shafran and his peers threaded throughout.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-cover
The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-visuel-1
The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-visuel-2
The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-visuel-3
The-well-nigel-shafran-loose-joints-publishing-visuel-4

The Well

Nigel Shafran

Loose Joints Publishing

Date de parution : 01/04/2022
Poids 1150 g / Dimensions 20 x 26.5 cm / 368 pages
ISBN 9781912719358

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Dans le monde de la mode, le “puits” est la terminologie utilisée par l’industrie pour désigner la section principale des images d’un magazine. Pour l’influent photographe britannique Nigel Shafran, cet espace a servi de lieu de créativité inattendue, de critique subversive et de commentaire ironique.

La relation de Shafran avec le monde de la photographie commerciale commence au milieu des années 1980, alors qu’il était adolescent, et se poursuit pendant les années des magazines emblématiques i-D et The Face, jusqu’à la résurgence récente de son approche idiosyncrasique et sans prétention de la séance de photos de mode dans les pages de Vogue et autres. Ce n’est que récemment que Shafran – connu pour son approche délicate et personnelle du tissage de récits photographiques convergents – a commencé à comprendre son engagement continu dans le monde commercial comme un projet en soi. The Well est un espace pour critiquer et refléter les mondes de la mode de l’intérieur, en apportant sa simplicité caractéristique et sa capacité à désarmer le spectateur dans ce monde chargé et compliqué.

Cette publication historique, éditée et conçue par Linda van Deursen, retrace l’approche commerciale et non commerciale de Shafran en matière de photographie, avec des entretiens et des réflexions entre Shafran et ses pairs.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.