loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

The-space-between_John-Baldessari_Walther-Koening_cover

The Space Between

John Baldessari

Walther König

Publication date : 2021/10/26
Weight 730 g / Dimensions 23.4 x 25 cm / 108 pages
ISBN 9783960988304

The Space Between celebrates John Baldessari’s final painting series – 30 paintings on canvas that explore the gaps in meaning between word and image, foreground and background, photography and painting, presence and absence.

Quintessentially Baldessarian in their witty, sometimes absurd pairings of objects and text, they feature imagery from film stills and found photographs, partially covered by gestural fields of white and black paint that direct our attention to particular elements in each scene while obscuring others.

Certain themes reveal themselves across the series, including body parts, gestures, and tools. Simultaneously banal, surprising and poignant, Baldessari’s last series beautifully encapsulates the thrust of his artistic project as a whole: To explore the amorphous spaces between things, people and ideas.

This book features essays by Russell Ferguson, curator, author and professor in the Department of Art at University of California, Los Angeles; Hans Ulrich Obrist (curator, critic and artistic director at Serpentine Galleries, London; and artists Barbara Bloom and David Salle, along with a portrait by artist Catherine Opie.

You may also like

1000-satoshi-machiguchi-couve

1000

Sathoshi Machiguchi

45,00

Contact us
Surname

loader

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

The-space-between_John-Baldessari_Walther-Koening_cover

The Space Between

John Baldessari

Walther König

Date de parution : 26/10/2021
Poids 730 g / Dimensions 23.4 x 25 cm / 108 pages / fr
ISBN 9783960988304

The Space Between célèbre la dernière série de peintures de John Baldessari – 30 tableaux sur toile qui explorent les écarts de sens entre le mot et l’image, le premier plan et l’arrière-plan, la photographie et la peinture, la présence et l’absence.

Dans leurs associations spirituelles, parfois absurdes, d’objets et de textes, ces tableaux présentent des images tirées de photos de films et de photographies trouvées, partiellement recouvertes de champs gestuels de peinture blanche et noire qui attirent notre attention sur des éléments particuliers de chaque scène tout en en occultant d’autres.

Certains thèmes se révèlent à travers la série, notamment les parties du corps, les gestes et les outils. Simultanément banale, surprenante et poignante, la dernière série de Baldessari résume à merveille l’idée maîtresse de son projet artistique dans son ensemble : Explorer les espaces amorphes entre les choses, les gens et les idées.

Ce livre contient des essais de Russell Ferguson, conservateur, auteur et professeur au département d’art de l’université de Californie à Los Angeles, de Hans Ulrich Obrist (conservateur, critique et directeur artistique des Serpentine Galleries, à Londres) et des artistes Barbara Bloom et David Salle, ainsi qu’un portrait de l’artiste Catherine Opie.

Vous aimerez aussi

Retrouvez nos dernières sélections

Contactez-nous
Nom