loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_cover.jpg
The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_visuel-4
The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_visuel-3
The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_visuel-2
The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_visuel-1

The Last Survivor is the First Suspect

Nick Haymes

Kodoji Press

Publication date : 2021/12/01
Weight 1300 g / Dimensions 17 x 24 cm / 480 pages / fr
ISBN 9783037470800

The Last Survivor is the First Suspect is at once a celebration and a requiem. The project, captured between 2005 and 2009 by photographer Nick Haymes, is a record of a drifting community of young friends based mainly between two distinct geographic points: Southern California and Tulsa, Oklahoma. The book’s narrative merges a sense of joy in documenting burgeoning friendships and bonds, and a looming sense of dread that would ultimately culminate in a series of tragedies.

Weaving throughout Haymes intimate photographs are a series of digital screenshots which Haymes has identified as key to this moment in time, which offer the viewer a secondary narrative of engagement. Social media was still relatively young and Haymes became acutely aware of a new nodal sense of communication between these distinct groups of friends. Platforms such as MySpace, YouTube and online message boards engendered a sense of community by enabling connection, while also setting new and impossible standards and expectations. Diligently collected, these various forms of communication between the characters frame a foreboding.

In Haymes’ own introduction to the book he accounts how his camera allowed him to compensate for a sense of crippling shyness developed during his teenage years. ’I picked up a camera and hid, discovering I could once again be near people, intimate with them, without having to engage,’ he writes. To create this exhibition and publication, the artist has returned to a body of pictures, piecing together what happened to these people for himself. Here, Haymes invites us to form a contemporary engagement with this specific historic moment, where things are both different and the same in equal measure. L.P. Hartley famously opened his coming of age opus The Go-Between ’The past is a foreign country; they do things differently there.’ The Last Survivor is the First Suspect shows this sentiment with remarkable clarity.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_cover.jpg
The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_visuel-4
The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_visuel-3
The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_visuel-2
The-last-survivor-is-the-first-suspect_Nick-Haymes_Kodoji-Press_visuel-1

The Last Survivor is the First Suspect

Nick Haymes

Kodoji Press

Date de parution : 01/12/2021
Poids 1300 g / Dimensions 17 x 24 cm / 480 pages / fr
ISBN 9783037470800

The Last Survivor is the First Suspect est à la fois une célébration et un requiem. Le projet, capturé entre 2005 et 2009 par le photographe Nick Haymes, est le témoignage d’une communauté de jeunes amis à la dérive, basée principalement entre deux points géographiques distincts : la Californie du Sud et Tulsa, en Oklahoma. La narration du livre mêle un sentiment de joie à documenter les amitiés et les liens naissants, et un sentiment de crainte qui culmine finalement dans une série de tragédies.

Les photographies intimes de Haymes sont entrelacées d’une série de captures d’écran numériques que Haymes a identifiées comme essentielles à ce moment précis et qui offrent au spectateur un récit secondaire d’engagement. Les médias sociaux étaient encore relativement jeunes et Haymes a pris conscience d’un nouveau sens nodal de la communication entre ces groupes d’amis distincts. Des plateformes telles que MySpace, YouTube et les forums de discussion en ligne ont engendré un sentiment de communauté en permettant la connexion, tout en établissant des normes et des attentes nouvelles et impossibles à satisfaire. Diligemment collectées, ces diverses formes de communication entre les personnages forment un présage.

Dans l’introduction de son livre, Haymes raconte comment son appareil photo lui a permis de compenser une timidité invalidante qu’il a développée pendant son adolescence. J’ai pris un appareil photo et je me suis caché, découvrant que je pouvais à nouveau être proche des gens, intime avec eux, sans avoir à m’engager, écrit-il. Pour créer cette exposition et cette publication, l’artiste est revenu à un corpus d’images, reconstituant pour lui-même ce qui est arrivé à ces personnes. Haymes nous invite ici à nous engager de manière contemporaine dans ce moment historique spécifique, où les choses sont à la fois différentes et identiques dans une même mesure. L.P. Hartley ouvrait son célèbre opus The Go-Between sur le thème du passage à l’âge adulte en ces termes : “Le passé est un pays étranger ; on y fait les choses différemment”. The Last Survivor is the First Suspect montre ce sentiment avec une clarté remarquable.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.