loader

SPRING OFFER - SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

The-Complete-essays-1973-1991-Luigi-Ghirri-Mack-Books-cover
The-Complete-essays-1973-1991-Luigi-Ghirri-Mack-Books-visuel-1
The-Complete-essays-1973-1991-Luigi-Ghirri-Mack-Books-visuel-2
The-Complete-essays-1973-1991-Luigi-Ghirri-Mack-Books-visuel-3

The Complete Essays 1973-1991

Luigi Ghirri

Mack Books

Publication date : 2017/01/01
Weight 405 g / Dimensions 15 x 22.5 cm / 240 pages / english
ISBN 9781910164143

Luigi Ghirri (1943–1992) started writing about photography from the moment he became a photographer: for his own publications, for Italian magazines and newspapers, as well as private reflections committed to paper, where his thoughts would settle and then often depart in new directions.

Published for the first time in English, The Complete Essays 1973–1991 comprises sixty-eight texts in which Ghirri explores the same subjects at the core of his photographs – the themes of identity, time, memory, vision, representation, and sense of place.

As a voracious reader with a particular taste for the eclectic, Ghirri also reaches outwards from his own practice to explore the history of photography as he considers the work of Walker Evans, William Eggleston, Robert Adams and John Gossage, weaving in references to musicians, writers and painters alike.

As themes and ideas overlap, the compilation of texts create a sort of dialectic chamber of curiosities that includes Gulliver, Van Gogh’s yellow house, Cézanne, Morandi’s studio, Mallarmé, the fireworks above Trani Cathedral, neo-realist films, lots of music, Francis Bacon, McLuhan’s global village, Pessoa, poetry.

Together, the essays offer an unintentional yet comprehensive treatise on the history and theory of photography, and above all, they constitute a special form of autobiography.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

OFFRE DE PRINTEMPS : LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

The-Complete-essays-1973-1991-Luigi-Ghirri-Mack-Books-cover
The-Complete-essays-1973-1991-Luigi-Ghirri-Mack-Books-visuel-1
The-Complete-essays-1973-1991-Luigi-Ghirri-Mack-Books-visuel-2
The-Complete-essays-1973-1991-Luigi-Ghirri-Mack-Books-visuel-3

The Complete Essays 1973-1991

Luigi Ghirri

Mack Books

Date de parution : 01/01/2017
Poids 405 g / Dimensions 15 x 22.5 cm / 240 pages / anglais
ISBN 9781910164143

Luigi Ghirri (1943-1992) a commencé à écrire sur la photographie dès qu’il est devenu photographe : pour ses propres publications, pour des magazines et des journaux italiens, ainsi que des réflexions privées couchées sur le papier, où ses pensées se fixent et partent souvent dans de nouvelles directions.

Publié pour la première fois en anglais, The Complete Essays 1973-1991 comprend soixante-huit textes dans lesquels Ghirri explore les mêmes sujets que ceux qui sont au cœur de ses photographies – les thèmes de l’identité, du temps, de la mémoire, de la vision, de la représentation et du sens du lieu.

En tant que lecteur vorace ayant un goût particulier pour l’éclectisme, Ghirri s’éloigne également de sa propre pratique pour explorer l’histoire de la photographie en considérant le travail de Walker Evans, William Eggleston, Robert Adams et John Gossage, tout en faisant référence à des musiciens, des écrivains et des peintres.

Au fur et à mesure que les thèmes et les idées se chevauchent, la compilation des textes crée une sorte de chambre dialectique de curiosités qui comprend Gulliver, la maison jaune de Van Gogh, Cézanne, l’atelier de Morandi, Mallarmé, les feux d’artifice au-dessus de la cathédrale de Trani, les films néoréalistes, beaucoup de musique, Francis Bacon, le village global de McLuhan, Pessoa, la poésie.

L’ensemble de ces essais constitue un traité involontaire mais complet de l’histoire et de la théorie de la photographie et, surtout, une forme particulière d’autobiographie.

Autres titres disponibles

Retrouvez nos dernières sélections

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.