loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

talashi-cordesse-exb-cover
talashi-cordesse-exb-3
talashi-cordesse-exb-4
talashi-cordesse-exb-2
talashi-cordesse-exb-1

Talashi

Alexis Cordesse

Atelier EXB

Publication date : 2021/10/07
Weight 410 g /
Broché, 16,5 x 23,5 cm
128 pages, 55 colour photographs
Enlgish text booklet
ISBN 9782365113182

How to evoke a tragedy made paradoxically invisible by too many images?

French photographer Alexis Cordesse, used to war zones, took the opposite view by collecting the rare images taken in exile, in a suitcase, on a mobile phone, which bear witness to the memory of uprooted lives. Fleeing Syria by taking personal images with you is a risk: in the event of an arrest, the photographs are seized and analyzed. The people in it become suspicious of the regime. In such a context, photography becomes dangerous. Over the course of his encounters, over a hundred in France, Germany and Turkey between 2018 and 2020, Alexis Cordesse has written the stories of these vernacular photographs and of those who entrusted them to him.

The war is seen differently, through the prism of the words of the exile and the memory of the images that he has chosen to keep. Photography as a tangible trace is put in tension: what does it tell us about the war experience, what does it tell us about each one? Talashi addresses the circulation of images through the experience of exile. These photographs have survived destruction and oblivion. Their presence speaks of the absence of those forever gone.

“Talashi is a word in the Arabic language which can be translated by fragmentation, erosion, disappearance. Outside the scope of news images, this work of reappropriation offers a sober and humble story, at the crossroads of intimacy and History.” Alexis Cordesse

 

You may also like

Delpire_man-ray-couverture-h

Man Ray

Emmanuelle de l’Ecotais / Alain Sayag

60,00

ADS-leguillon-delpire-1

Ads.

Pierre Leguillon

30,00

sejud-hoax-delpire-co-1

HOAX

Agnieszka Sejud

30,00

Contact us
Surname

loader

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

talashi-cordesse-exb-cover
talashi-cordesse-exb-3
talashi-cordesse-exb-4
talashi-cordesse-exb-2
talashi-cordesse-exb-1

Talashi

Alexis Cordesse

Atelier EXB

Date de parution : 07/10/2021
Poids 410 g /
Broché, 16,5 x 23,5 cm
128 pages, 55 photographies couleur
Livret de traduction en anglais
ISBN 9782365113182

Comment évoquer une tragédie rendue paradoxalement invisible par trop d’images ? 

Le photographe Alexis Cordesse, habitué des zones de guerre, a pris le contrepied en collectant les rares images emportées dans l’exil, dans une valise, sur un téléphone portable, qui témoignent de la mémoire de vies déracinées. Fuir la Syrie en prenant avec soi ses images personnelles est un risque : en cas d’arrestation, les photographies sont saisies, analysées. Les personnes qui y figurent deviennent suspectes pour le régime. Dans un tel contexte, la photographie devient dangereuse. Au fil de ses rencontres, plus d’une centaine en France, en Allemagne et en Turquie entre 2018 et 2020, Alexis Cordesse a écrit les histoires de ces photographies vernaculaires et de ceux qui les lui ont confiées.

La guerre est perçue autrement, à travers le prisme de la parole de l’exilé et la mémoire des images que celui-ci a choisies de garder. La photographie comme trace tangible est mise en tension : que nous dit-elle du vécu, que nous raconte-t-elle de chacun ? Talashi parle de la circulation des images à travers l’expérience de l’exil. Ces photographies ont survécu aux destructions et à l’oubli. Leur présence dit l’absence de celles à jamais disparues.

« Talashi est un mot de la langue arabe qui peut se traduire par fragmentation, érosion, disparition. Inscrit dans le hors champ des images d’actualité, ce travail de réappropriation propose un récit sobre et modeste, à la croisée de l’intime et de l’Histoire. » Alexis Cordesse

Vous aimerez aussi

Retrouvez nos dernières sélections

Contactez-nous
Nom