loader

SUMMER BREAK ! YOUR ONLINE ORDERS WILL BE SHIPPED FROM AUGUST, 25.

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

t-giordano-bonora-mousse-publishing-cover
t-giordano-bonora-mousse-publishing-visuel-1
t-giordano-bonora-mousse-publishing-visuel-2
t-giordano-bonora-mousse-publishing-visuel-3

T*

Giordano Bonora

Mousse Publishing

Publication date : 2019/12/06
Weight 620 g / Dimensions 17.2 x 24.3 cm / 232 pages / bilingual english/italian
ISBN 9788867493968

A photographic archive of the transgender community in Bologna in the 1980s. With critical texts by scholars and queer theorists.
This book is inspired by the pictures that Giordano Bonora, a young streetcar operator and aspiring photographer, took of Bologna’s small transgender community in 1980 (although it would be more correct to speak, in this case, of proto-Transgenderism).
Reproduced here for the first time, these raw and gilded images reflect—during a period in Italy characterized by subversive movements and political revolts that were not just rooted in questions of identity—attempts made by T* people at a construction of the self outside the binary logic of the genotypically XY male/genotypically XX female. By people like Valérie—a woman’s face, a hairless chest with no breasts, a fleur-de-lis tattooed on the shoulder, and two pairs of pantyhose—for whom “gender” is not determined biologically but something to be embraced depending on the circumstances. A box containing a jigsaw puzzle with a picture that is constantly changing.
Bundled with the photographs, a handful of texts set out to explain how the question of gender involves two cultural levels of sexual difference, the normative and the dissident, and how the decision-making power over organs outside heteropatriarchal systems of sexuality and processes of disidentification are the stakes in the new “somato-political” struggle against hegemonic regimes of oppression conducted by enchanting, allied, opaque, and vulnerable bodies.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

FERMETURE ESTIVALE ! VOS ACHATS EN LIGNE VOUS SERONT LIVRÉS À PARTIR DU 25 AOUT — LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

t-giordano-bonora-mousse-publishing-cover
t-giordano-bonora-mousse-publishing-visuel-1
t-giordano-bonora-mousse-publishing-visuel-2
t-giordano-bonora-mousse-publishing-visuel-3

T*

Giordano Bonora

Mousse Publishing

Date de parution : 06/12/2019
Poids 620 g / Dimensions 17.2 x 24.3 cm / 232 pages / bilingue anglais/italien
ISBN 9788867493968

Une archive photographique de la communauté transgenre de Bologne dans les années 1980. Avec des textes critiques d’universitaires et de théoriciens queer.

Ce livre s’inspire des photos que Giordano Bonora, jeune opérateur de tramway et photographe en herbe, a prises de la petite communauté transgenre de Bologne en 1980 (même s’il serait plus correct de parler, dans ce cas, de proto-transgenderisme).

Reproduites ici pour la première fois, ces images brutes et dorées reflètent – pendant une période en Italie caractérisée par des mouvements subversifs et des révoltes politiques qui n’étaient pas seulement enracinés dans des questions d’identité – les tentatives faites par les personnes T* pour une construction du soi en dehors de la logique binaire de l’homme génotypiquement XY/femme génotypiquement XX. Par des personnes comme Valérie – un visage de femme, un torse glabre sans seins, une fleur de lys tatouée sur l’épaule, deux paires de collants – pour qui le “genre” n’est pas déterminé biologiquement mais à assumer selon les circonstances. Une boîte contenant un puzzle dont l’image change constamment.

Accompagnant les photographies, une poignée de textes expliquent comment la question du genre implique deux niveaux culturels de différence sexuelle, le normatif et le dissident, et comment le pouvoir de décision sur les organes en dehors des systèmes hétéropatriarcaux de sexualité et les processus de désidentification sont les enjeux de la nouvelle lutte “somato-politique” contre les régimes d’oppression hégémoniques menée par des corps enchanteurs, alliés, opaques et vulnérables.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.