loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

RP17_catalogue_Super_Group_RICHARD PRINCE
catalogue_Super_Group_richardprince_1

SUPER GROUP

Richard Prince

Max Hetzler

Publication date : 2017/01/01
Weight 1370 g / Dimensions 29.5 x 36.5 cm / 96 pages
ISBN 9783947127016

Referring to a music group which consists of band members that are already successful and famous from previous projects, a “supergroup”embodies in a pointedly way the iconic and individualistic spirit inherent in Western rock and pop culture.

Akin to his ongoing interest in American high and low culture, Prince integrates elements of and references to music culture in the works exhibited [exhibition: Super Group, Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin, 2017]. Playing with the sense and texture of collage, painting and printing, these recent canvases include actual or scanned and printed record sleeves, stapled and glued onto the surface as well as photos, posters, magazine covers, some even contain real bras along with images of such. Paint and oil stick are seemingly rapidly applied, covering parts of the collaged surface and canvas while leaving others empty so that the underlying plane stays visible, creating an impression of depth through overlapping layers.
Throughout these paintings, Prince refers to his own earlier work. Single figures from his Hippie Drawings, a series created in the early 2000s, re-appear in many of the new paintings, often printed on canvas, cut out and attached to the surface, at times also painted, alongside scribbled names of famous bands and singers, song titles and lyrics can be found. Elements such as rubber bands, DVD and CD labels that form important means of some of Prince’s previous series clearly make reference to his artistic practice.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

RP17_catalogue_Super_Group_RICHARD PRINCE
catalogue_Super_Group_richardprince_1

SUPER GROUP

Richard Prince

Max Hetzler

Date de parution : 01/01/2017
Poids 1370 g / Dimensions 29.5 x 36.5 cm / 96 pages
ISBN 9783947127016

Faisant référence à un groupe de musique qui se compose de membres de groupes ayant déjà connu le succès et la célébrité grâce à des projets antérieurs, un “supergroupe” incarne de manière pointue l’esprit iconique et individualiste inhérent à la culture rock et pop occidentale.

À l’instar de son intérêt permanent pour la haute et la basse culture américaine, Prince intègre des éléments et des références à la culture musicale dans les œuvres exposées [exposition : Super Group, Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin, 2017]. Jouant avec le sens et la texture du collage, de la peinture et de l’impression, ces toiles récentes comprennent des pochettes de disques réelles ou scannées et imprimées, agrafées et collées sur la surface ainsi que des photos, des affiches, des couvertures de magazines, certaines contiennent même de vrais soutiens-gorge ainsi que des images de ceux-ci. La peinture et le bâton d’huile sont apparemment appliqués rapidement, couvrant certaines parties de la surface collée et de la toile tout en laissant d’autres vides afin que le plan sous-jacent reste visible, créant ainsi une impression de profondeur par la superposition des couches.
Tout au long de ces peintures, Prince fait référence à ses propres travaux antérieurs. Des figures uniques de ses Hippie Drawings, une série créée au début des années 2000, réapparaissent dans nombre de ces nouvelles peintures, souvent imprimées sur la toile, découpées et fixées à la surface, parfois également peintes, à côté de noms griffonnés de groupes et de chanteurs célèbres, de titres de chansons et de paroles. Des éléments tels que des élastiques, des étiquettes de DVD et de CD qui constituent des moyens importants de certaines des séries précédentes de Prince font clairement référence à sa pratique artistique.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.