loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

stop-tanks-with-books-neville-nazraeli-press-cover
stop-tanks-with-books-neville-nazraeli-press-1
stop-tanks-with-books-neville-nazraeli-press-2
stop-tanks-with-books-neville-nazraeli-press-3

Stop tanks with books

Mark Neville

Nazraeli Press

SECOND PRINTING
Jurors’ Special Mention - Photobooks for Ukraine, Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation 2022

Publication date : 2022/09/01
Weight 1785 g / Dimensions 30.5 x 33 cm / 197 pages
ISBN 9781590055861

British artist Mark Neville moved home and studio from London to live in Kyiv, Ukraine, last year. With 100,000 Russian troops amassed on the Ukrainian border and the whole country on the cusp of war, Neville’s book project, Stop Tanks With Books, calls on the international community to urgently support Ukraine and help deter further Russian invasion.

Since 2015 Neville has been documenting life in Ukraine, with subjects ranging from holidaymakers on the beaches of Odessa, to the Roma communities on the Hungarian border, the churchgoers and nightclubbers of Kyiv, to both civilians and soldiers living on the frontline in Eastern Ukraine. Eighty of Neville’s photographs are brought together in this book, edited by David Campany, together with short stories about the conflict from Ukrainian novelist Lyuba Yakimchuk; research from the Centre of Eastern European Studies in Berlin about the 2.5 million Ukrainians already displaced by the war; and a call to action for the international community.

Employing his unique, activist strategy of a targeted book dissemination, Neville sent out 750 complimentary copies of the book’s first edition to key policymakers, opinion-makers, ambassadors, members of parliament, members of the international community and its media, as well as those involved directly in peace talks. The aim is for recipients of this book to be prompted into real action which will result in an end to the war, an end to the killing in Eastern Ukraine, and the withdrawal of Russian forces from occupied territories in Donbas and Crimea. An additional 750 copies were also available through Nazraeli Press for general distribution internationally, and quickly sold out.

Neville wrote in the first edition: “The atmosphere is extremely tense. Bomb shelters and siren drills are being prepared in the capital. Do we stay and fight? Or do we flee Ukraine completely? I wonder what the international response would be if Stockholm, London, Paris, or New York were threatened with an unprovoked and imminent invasion by Russia? Our book is a prayer and a necessary plea to the international community and Nazraeli Press and I have pulled out all the stops to get our book printed and disseminated before Putin invades.”

Published post-invasion, this important second edition of the book includes an updated artist’s statement and maps.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

stop-tanks-with-books-neville-nazraeli-press-cover
stop-tanks-with-books-neville-nazraeli-press-1
stop-tanks-with-books-neville-nazraeli-press-2
stop-tanks-with-books-neville-nazraeli-press-3

Stop tanks with books

Mark Neville

Nazraeli Press

SECONDE ÉDITION
Mention Spéciale du Jury - Photobooks for Ukraine, Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation 2022

Date de parution : 01/09/2022
Poids 1785 g / Dimensions 30.5 x 33 cm / 197 pages
ISBN 9781590055861

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

En 2021, l’artiste britannique Mark Neville a quitté sa maison et son atelier de Londres pour s’installer à Kiev, en Ukraine. Alors que 100 000 soldats russes sont amassés à la frontière ukrainienne et que le pays tout entier est au bord de la guerre, le projet de livre de Neville, Stop Tanks With Books, appelle la communauté internationale à soutenir de toute urgence l’Ukraine et à contribuer à dissuader toute nouvelle invasion russe.

Depuis 2015, Neville documente la vie en Ukraine, avec des sujets allant des vacanciers sur les plages d’Odessa aux communautés roms à la frontière hongroise, en passant par les fidèles et les night-clubbers de Kiev, sans oublier les civils et les soldats vivant sur la ligne de front dans l’est de l’Ukraine. Quatre-vingts photographies de Neville sont réunies dans ce livre, édité par David Campany, accompagnées de nouvelles sur le conflit écrites par la romancière ukrainienne Lyuba Yakimchuk, de recherches du Centre d’études de l’Europe de l’Est de Berlin sur les 2,5 millions d’Ukrainiens déjà déplacés par la guerre et d’un appel à l’action pour la communauté internationale.

En utilisant sa stratégie unique et militante de diffusion ciblée du livre, Mark Neville envoie 750 exemplaires de la 1ère édition du livre aux décideurs politiques, aux décideurs économiques, aux ambassadeurs, aux députés, aux membres de la communauté internationale et à ses médias, ainsi que ceux qui participent directement aux pourparlers de paix. Le but est que les destinataires de ce livre soient incités à une action réelle qui aboutira à la fin de la guerre, à la fin des tueries dans l’est de l’Ukraine et au retrait des forces russes des territoires occupés dans le Donbass et en Crimée. Nazraeli Press a également mis à disposition 750 exemplaires supplémentaires pour une distribution internationale, qui se sont rapidement épuisés.

Neville a écrit dans la première édition : « L’atmosphère est extrêmement tendue. Des abris antiaériens et des exercices de sirène sont en cours de préparation dans la capitale. Restons-nous et combattons-nous ? Ou fuit-on complètement l’Ukraine ? Je me demande quelle serait la réaction internationale si Stockholm, Londres, Paris ou New York étaient menacés d’une invasion non provoquée et imminente de la Russie? Notre livre est une prière et un appel nécessaire à la communauté internationale et à Nazraeli Press, et j’ai fait tout mon possible pour que notre livre soit imprimé et diffusé avant l’invasion de Poutine. »

Publiée après l’invasion, cette importante deuxième édition du livre comprend une déclaration de l’artiste et des cartes mises à jour.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.