loader

SUMMER BREAK ! YOUR ONLINE ORDERS WILL BE SHIPPED FROM AUGUST, 25.

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Smoke-and-mirrors-guillaume-zuili-editions-photosyntheses-cover
Smoke-and-mirrors-guillaume-zuili-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-1
Smoke-and-mirrors-guillaume-zuili-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-2
Smoke-and-mirrors-guillaume-zuili-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-3

Smoke & Mirrors

Guillaume Zuili

Editions Photosynthèses

Publication date : 2017/11/14
Weight 1290 g / Dimensions 26 x 34 cm / 120 pages
ISBN 9791096575053

This book in an imposing format gathers the American series realized by Guillaume Zuili these last years.

“For the past fifteen years, Guillaume Zuili has been roaming Los Angeles where he has now settled. He makes incessant crossings there, it is also a journey through time as he could undertake in other cities of the world that he likes to translate by optical and chemical games. Experimental effects are for him a language inherited from the tradition of the avant-garde and a means of raising impressions to the level of mental images.
By working with a pinhole camera (a camera without a lens), by printing on vintage paper (without a development gas pedal), precisely to be able to use the mythical lith developer that contaminates the paper and leaves its own imprint on the image, Guillaume Zuili follows a chain of operations that brings him closer to the alchemist. The result is an aesthetic of the relic with amber and mineral prints presenting the modernist motifs of the city that has become a prisoner of time. The whole thing gives you the feeling of discovering a buried treasure, a stranded library.”
Here we have all the mythology of America, its futuristic architecture and its famous “vernacular,” its cowboys and pinups, its cars and its sign lettering. But it all blended together in the imagination as in a photographic substance. Let’s add a reference that comes to mind in front of this way of conjugating times in the photographic image: Los Angeles trained to photography the one who knew how to marry photography and painting – we think here of Ed Ruscha whose conceptual photo books answer to the great paintings of signs and his famous gasoline stations. This artist has transformed the signs of the modern into vestiges, and what’s more by giving the appearance of photography to his paintings as Curtis in the pictorialist era gave his photos the charm of engraving. Zuili participates in this aesthetic of the artisans of American myth, finding in the mixture of genres the fuel of a machine to derail time.”

Michel Poivert, Camera, 2017

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

FERMETURE ESTIVALE ! VOS ACHATS EN LIGNE VOUS SERONT LIVRÉS À PARTIR DU 25 AOUT — LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Smoke-and-mirrors-guillaume-zuili-editions-photosyntheses-cover
Smoke-and-mirrors-guillaume-zuili-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-1
Smoke-and-mirrors-guillaume-zuili-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-2
Smoke-and-mirrors-guillaume-zuili-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-3

Smoke & Mirrors

Guillaume Zuili

Editions Photosynthèses

Date de parution : 14/11/2017
Poids 1290 g / Dimensions 26 x 34 cm / 120 pages
ISBN 9791096575053

Ce livre au format imposant rassemble la série américaine réalisée par Guillaume Zuili ces dernières années.

« Depuis une quinzaine d’années, Guillaume Zuili arpente Los Angeles où il s’est désormais installé. Il y réalise d’incessantes traversées, c’est aussi un voyage dans le temps comme il a pu en entreprendre dans d’autres villes du monde qu’il aime traduire par des jeux optiques et chimiques. Les effets expérimentaux sont pour lui un langage hérité de la tradition des avant-gardes et le moyen de hisser les impressions au rang d’images mentales.
En travaillant au sténopé (un appareil sans objectif), en tirant sur des papiers vintages (sans accélérateur de développement), pour justement pouvoir utiliser le mythique révélateur lith qui contamine le papier et laisse sa propre empreinte sur l’image, Guillaume Zuili suit une chaîne d’opérations qui le rapproche de l’alchimiste. Le résultat est une esthétique de la relique avec des épreuves ambrées et minérales présentant les motifs modernistes de la ville devenue prisonnière du temps. Le tout vous donne le sentiment de découvrir un trésor enfoui, une bibliothèque échouée. »
On a là toute la mythologie de l’Amérique, ses architectures futuristes et son fameux « vernaculaire », ses cow boys et ses pin-up, ses bagnoles et ses lettrages d’enseigne. Mais tout s’est mélangé dans l’imaginaire comme dans une substance photographique. Ajoutons une référence qui vient à l’esprit devant cette façon de conjuguer les temps dans l’image photographique : Los Angeles a formé à la photo celui qui a su marier photographie et peinture- on pense ici à Ed Ruscha dont les livres photo conceptuels répondent aux grandes peintures d’enseigne et de ses fameuses gazoline stations. Cet artiste a transformé les signes du moderne en vestiges, et qui plus est en donnant l’apparence de photographie a ses peintures comme Curtis à l’époque pictorialiste donnait à ses photos le charme de la gravure. Zuili participe de cette esthétique des artisans du mythe americain, trouvant dans le mélange des genres le carburant d’une machine à détraquer le temps. »

Michel Poivert, Camera, 2017

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.