loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_1
ARAKI_delpire-co_88
ARAKI_delpire-co_78
ARAKI_delpire-co_82
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_9
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_8
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_4
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_3
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_2

Shi Nikki (Private Diary) For Robert Frank

Nobuyoshi Araki

delpire & co

Publication date : 2021/12/08
Weight 650 g / Dimensions 21 x 18.5 cm / 208 pages
Foreword by Emma Lavigne, Director, Pinault Collection
Text by Matthieu Humery, exhibition curator
texts in French, English, Japanese
ISBN 9791095821434

This book presents an unpublished portfolio of Japanese artist Nobuyoshi Araki, whose work is recognized for being in direct contact with his reality, which he experiences, lives and transforms into “fiction. ”
It brings together 101 black and white photographs dedicated to Robert Frank, a photographer he admired, and is published on the occasion of the exhibition of the photographic series “101 Works For Robert Frank”, presented for the first time at the Bourse du Commerce from December 2021 to March 2022.

Produced by Araki in 1993, three years after the death of his wife, Yoko Aoki, the series “101 Works For Robert Frank” brings together 101 black and white photographs. In the austerity of the studio or in the privacy of the bedroom, the photographer captures the female model in postures of strict frontality, explicit and uncompromising, just as in erotic scenes. These images are interspersed with photographs of the daily life of Araki, now widowed: still lifes, streets and sky of Tokyo, the cat Chiro adopted with his wife… The street photographs echoing the work of Robert Frank (1924-2019), pioneer of American photography, to whom Araki dedicated this series on the occasion of his exhibition at the Yokohama Museum. In this juxtaposition, Araki explores his intimate surroundings and questions his desire as well as the loss of a loved one.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_1
ARAKI_delpire-co_88
ARAKI_delpire-co_78
ARAKI_delpire-co_82
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_9
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_8
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_4
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_3
ARAKI-SHINIKKI-delpire-co_2

Shi Nikki (Private Diary) For Robert Frank

Nobuyoshi Araki

delpire & co

Date de parution : 08/12/2021
Poids 650 g / Dimensions 21 x 18.5 cm / 208 pages
Préface d'Emma Lavigne, directrice générale de Pinault Collection
Texte de Matthieu Humery, commissaire de l’exposition
Textes en français, anglais, japonais
ISBN 9791095821434

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Cet ouvrage présente un portfolio inédit de l’artiste japonais Nobuyoshi Araki, dont le travail est reconnu pour être en prise directe avec sa réalité, qu’il expérimente, vit et transforme en « fiction ».
Il rassemble 101 photographies en noir et blanc, dédiées à Robert Frank, photographe qu’il admirait, et est édité à l’occasion de l’exposition de la série photographique « Shi Nikki (Private Diary) For Robert Frank », présentée pour la première fois à la Bourse du Commerce de décembre 2021 à mars 2022.

Réalisées par Araki en 1993, trois ans après le décès de sa femme, Yoko Aoki, la série « Shi Nikki (Private Diary) For Robert Frank » rassemble 101 photographies en noir et blanc. Dans l’austérité du studio ou dans l’intimité de la chambre, le photographe saisit le modèle féminin dans des postures de stricte frontalité, explicites et sans concession, tout comme dans des mises en scène érotiques. Ces images s’intercalent avec des photographies du quotidien d’Araki désormais veuf : natures mortes, rues et ciel de Tokyo, le chat Chiro adopté avec sa femme… Les photographies de rues faisant écho au travail de Robert Frank (1924-2019), pionnier de la photographie américaine, à qui Araki a dédié cette série à l’occasion de son exposition au musée de Yokohama.

Dans cette juxtaposition, Araki explore son environnement intime et s’interroge sur son désir comme sur la perte d’un être cher.

La presse en parle

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.