loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Particulars-David-Goldblatt-Steidl-Verlag-cover
Particulars-David-Goldblatt-Steidl-Verlag-visuel-2
Particulars-David-Goldblatt-Steidl-Verlag-visuel-1

Particulars

David Goldblatt

Steidl Verlag

Publication date : 2014/10/01
Weight 1120 g / Dimensions 35 x 37 cm / 56 pages
ISBN 9783869307770

Following a series of portraits of his compatriots made in the early 1970s, photographer David Goldblatt, for a very short and intense period of time, naturally turned to focusing on peoples’ particulars and individual body languages “as affirmations or embodiments of their selves.” Goldblatt’s affinity was no accident: Working at his father’s men’s outfitting store in the 1950s, his awareness of posture, gesture and proportion—technical as it was—formed early and would accompany him throughout his life.

In this series we see hands resting on laps, crossed legs, the curved backs of sleepers on a lawn at midday, their fingers and feet relaxed, pausing from their usual occupations. This deeply contemplative work is framed by Ingrid de Kok’s poetry.

The photographs in Particulars were taken beginning in 1975, and the first edition of the book was published by Goodman Gallery, Johannesburg, in 2003. Goldblatt has revised Particulars for this new Steidl edition.

Other titles available

ZEEN Maurice Scheltens Liesbeth Abbenes-CASEPUBLISHING-cover

Zeen

Maurice Scheltens / Liesbeth Abbenes

50,00

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

OFFRE DE PRINTEMPS : LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Particulars-David-Goldblatt-Steidl-Verlag-cover
Particulars-David-Goldblatt-Steidl-Verlag-visuel-2
Particulars-David-Goldblatt-Steidl-Verlag-visuel-1

Particulars

David Goldblatt

Steidl Verlag

Date de parution : 01/10/2014
Poids 1120 g / Dimensions 35 x 37 cm / 56 pages
ISBN 9783869307770

Après une série de portraits sur ses compatriotes réalisés au début des années 1970, le photographe David Goldblatt s’est naturellement tourné, pendant une période très courte et intense, vers les particularités et le langage corporel individuel des gens “en tant qu’affirmation ou incarnation de leur moi”. L’affinité de Goldblatt n’est pas le fruit du hasard : Travaillant dans le magasin d’équipement pour hommes de son père dans les années 1950, sa conscience de la posture, du geste et de la proportion – aussi technique soit-elle – s’est formée très tôt et l’accompagnera toute sa vie.

Dans cette série, nous voyons des mains posées sur des genoux, des jambes croisées, le dos courbé de dormeurs sur une pelouse à midi, les doigts et les pieds détendus, s’éloignant de leurs occupations habituelles. Cette œuvre profondément contemplative est encadrée par la poésie d’Ingrid de Kok.

Les photographies de Particulars ont été prises à partir de 1975, et la première édition du livre a été publiée par la Goodman Gallery de Johannesburg en 2003. Goldblatt a révisé Particulars pour cette nouvelle édition Steidl.

Autres titres disponibles

Retrouvez nos dernières sélections

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.