loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

paradis-thomasson-the-eriskay-connection-cover
paradis-thomasson-the-eriskay-connection-1
paradis-thomasson-the-eriskay-connection-3
paradis-thomasson-the-eriskay-connection-2

Paradis

Oriane Thomasson

The Eriskay Connection

Publication date : 2022/09/29
Weight 210 g / 20 x 29 cm / 80 pages / French edition
ISBN 9789492051851

Featured in our selection(s):

A cabinet of curiosities – or Wunderkammer – exhibits a wide variety of objects and artefacts with a particular notion towards the rare, eclectic and esoteric. Through their selection of objects, they tell a particular story about the way humans see the natural and cultural world.

Inspired by this way of collecting, Oriane Thomasson created Paradis, where science and art, natural and artificial, come together to produce a new fiction. The collection is a mosaic of photographic work and archival materials. From images she made during her travels through the Far East, to botanical and mineralogical illustrations.

Paradis examines the different materialities of images and the way they influence our imagination. The work questions the concept of nature through its representations, and the myths from Western societies that stem from those. As a modern explorer, Thomasson brings together what she discovered and assembles the images into a new narrative through which we wander.

Woven through the images is a fictional text in which the reader is led to an unknown land, as an explorer discovering mysterious and unknown lands. Paradis is an invitation to rediscover nature’s ability to make us imagine, dream and build new stories.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

paradis-thomasson-the-eriskay-connection-cover
paradis-thomasson-the-eriskay-connection-1
paradis-thomasson-the-eriskay-connection-3
paradis-thomasson-the-eriskay-connection-2

Paradis

Oriane Thomasson

The Eriskay Connection

Date de parution : 29/09/2022
Poids 210 g / 20 x 29 cm / 80 pages / Édition française
ISBN 9789492051851

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Les cabinets de curiosités – ou Wunderkammer – exposent une grande variété d’objets et d’artefacts avec une notion particulière pour ce qui est rare, éclectique et ésotérique. À travers leurs sélections d’objets, ils racontent une histoire particulière sur la façon dont les humains perçoivent le monde naturel et culturel.

Inspirée par cette façon de collectionner, Oriane Thomasson a créé Paradis, où la science et l’art, le naturel et l’artificiel, se rencontrent pour produire une nouvelle fiction. La collection est une mosaïque de travaux photographiques et de documents d’archives. Des images réalisées lors de ses voyages en Extrême-Orient aux illustrations botaniques et minéralogiques.

Paradis examine les différentes matérialités des images et la manière dont elles influencent notre imagination. L’œuvre interroge le concept de nature à travers ses représentations, et les mythes des sociétés occidentales qui en découlent. En tant qu’exploratrice moderne, Thomasson rassemble ce qu’elle a découvert et assemble les images en un nouveau récit à travers lequel nous déambulons.

Un texte fictif est tissé à travers les images, dans lequel le lecteur est conduit vers une terre inconnue, tel un explorateur découvrant de nouvelles terres mystérieuses. Paradis est une invitation à redécouvrir la capacité de la nature à nous faire imaginer, rêver et construire de nouvelles histoires.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.