loader

SPRING OFFER - SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Orbit-Tom-Callemin-cover
Orbit-Tom-Callemin-visuel-1
Orbit-Tom-Callemin-visuel-2
Orbit-Tom-Callemin-visuel-3

Orbit

Tom Callemin

Self-Published

Publication date : 2020/12/01
Weight 800 g / Dimensions 30.5 x 25 cm

In Orbit, different projects from Belgian artist Tom Callemin, made in the past four years, are compiled and accompanied by short descriptions to give insights on how the images came about. The book is designed as a binder with foldouts.

In this manner a concept is created that gives each work ample space and slows down the viewing experience.

The title “Orbit” refers to the principal theme in the book, which is ‘time’ and the idea of things reoccurring within it. Some images explicitly refer to these ‘orbits’ by portraying the moon or the sun on their path, which is humans‘ way to measure the passage of time. Some merely capture the flash of a moment that is hard to catch with the naked eye. In each of the described projects the camera is set up to make something visible within the layers of time.

This publication is self-published with Des Palais.

Des Palais is a new collaboration between Tom Callemin and photographer Bieke Depoorter. They both studied photography at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Ghent where Tom is affiliated as an artistic researcher at the moment. Bieke is a member of the cooperative Magnum Photos.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

OFFRE DE PRINTEMPS : LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Orbit-Tom-Callemin-cover
Orbit-Tom-Callemin-visuel-1
Orbit-Tom-Callemin-visuel-2
Orbit-Tom-Callemin-visuel-3

Orbit

Tom Callemin

Auto-Publié

Date de parution : 01/12/2020
Poids 800 g / Dimensions 30.5 x 25 cm / fr

Dans Orbit, différents projets de l’artiste belge Tom Callemin, réalisés au cours des quatre dernières années, sont compilés et accompagnés de courtes descriptions permettant de comprendre comment les images sont nées. Le livre est conçu comme un classeur avec des dépliants, créant ainsi un concept qui donne à chaque œuvre un espace suffisant et ralentit l’expérience visuelle.

Le titre “Orbit” fait référence au thème principal du livre, à savoir le “temps” et l’idée que les choses se répètent dans ce temps. Certaines images font explicitement référence à ces “orbites” en représentant la lune ou le soleil sur leur trajectoire, qui est la manière dont les humains mesurent le passage du temps. D’autres capturent simplement l’éclair d’un moment qu’il est difficile de saisir à l’œil nu. Dans chacun des projets décrits, l’appareil photo est configuré pour rendre quelque chose visible dans les couches du temps.

Cette publication est autoéditée avec Des Palais.

Des Palais est une nouvelle collaboration entre Tom Callemin et la photographe Bieke Depoorter. Ils ont tous deux étudié la photographie à l’Académie royale des Beaux-Arts de Gand, où Tom est actuellement affilié en tant que chercheur artistique. Bieke est membre de la coopérative Magnum Photos.

Autres titres disponibles

Retrouvez nos dernières sélections

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.