loader

SUMMER BREAK ! YOUR ONLINE ORDERS WILL BE SHIPPED FROM AUGUST, 25.

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Milagros-de-la-torre-milagros-de-la-torre-toluca-editions-cover
Milagros-de-la-torre-milagros-de-la-torre-toluca-editions-visuel-1
Milagros-de-la-torre-milagros-de-la-torre-toluca-editions-visuel-3
Milagros-de-la-torre-milagros-de-la-torre-toluca-editions-visuel-2

Milagros de la Torre

Milagros de la Torre

Toluca Editions

Publication date : 2012/06/01
Weight1001g / Dimensions 22 x 30.5 cm / 224 pages / english
ISBN 9789879395752

This book by Milagros de la Torre, who was recently awarded the 2011 Latin American and Caribbean Guggenheim Fellowship Award, collects the most important and representative series on which Milagros de la Torre has been working, methodically and silently, for more than fifteen years. The works center on the always parallel relation between the development, history, and failed unfolding of the photographic medium with the dark side all human beings carry within themselves.

By means of a sober and austere focus and a rigorous seriousness of research, the universe of the artist is inhabited by criminal worlds, shadows of negatives, everyday objects with an intense psychological charge; traces, stains, presentiments, and troubling interior dialogues; apparently innocent clothing, omitted presences, hands that betray, and cancelled gazes.

The work of Milagros de la Torre has an uncommon subtlety and seductiveness, in spite of its subject-matter, achieved by a specific use of photographic language, in which the printing and physical presentation is an essential part of the message proposed. Serialization, decontextualization, classification, deconstruction, and partial lack of focus are tactics employed in the creation of new meanings or messages to be deciphered.

This book, designed by Olivier Andreotti, with a text by Marta Gili, is intimate and revealing, suggestive of a concern for recognizing not only personal memory but also the discovery of clues and evidence that lead us to observe how inevitable and revealing are human actions.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

FERMETURE ESTIVALE ! VOS ACHATS EN LIGNE VOUS SERONT LIVRÉS À PARTIR DU 25 AOUT — LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Milagros-de-la-torre-milagros-de-la-torre-toluca-editions-cover
Milagros-de-la-torre-milagros-de-la-torre-toluca-editions-visuel-1
Milagros-de-la-torre-milagros-de-la-torre-toluca-editions-visuel-3
Milagros-de-la-torre-milagros-de-la-torre-toluca-editions-visuel-2

Milagros de la Torre

Milagros de la Torre

Toluca Editions

Date de parution : 01/06/2012
Poids 1001g / Dimensions 22 x 30.5 cm / 224 pages / anglais
ISBN 9789879395752

Ce livre de Milagros de la Torre, qui a reçu le Guggenheim Fellowship Award 2011 pour l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, rassemble les séries les plus importantes et les plus représentatives sur lesquelles Milagros de la Torre travaille, méthodiquement et en silence, depuis plus de quinze ans. Les œuvres sont centrées sur la relation toujours parallèle entre le développement, l’histoire et l’échec du médium photographique et le côté sombre que tout être humain porte en lui.

Au moyen d’une focalisation sobre et austère et d’un sérieux rigoureux de la recherche, l’univers de l’artiste est habité par des mondes criminels, des ombres de négatifs, des objets quotidiens avec une charge psychologique intense ; des traces, des taches, des pressentiments et des dialogues intérieurs troublants ; des vêtements apparemment innocents, des présences omises, des mains qui trahissent et des regards annulés.

L’œuvre de Milagros de la Torre est d’une subtilité et d’une séduction peu communes, malgré son sujet, grâce à une utilisation spécifique du langage photographique, dans lequel l’impression et la présentation physique sont une partie essentielle du message proposé. La sérialisation, la décontextualisation, la classification, la déconstruction et l’absence partielle de mise au point sont des tactiques employées dans la création de nouvelles significations ou de messages à déchiffrer.

Ce livre, conçu par Olivier Andreotti, avec un texte de Marta Gili, est intime et révélateur, suggère un souci de reconnaissance non seulement de la mémoire personnelle mais aussi de la découverte d’indices et de preuves qui nous amènent à observer combien les actions humaines sont inévitables et révélatrices.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.