loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

masteringtheelements-JanaHartman-theeriksayconnection-1
masteringtheelements-JanaHartman-theeriksayconnection-3
masteringtheelements-JanaHartman-theeriksayconnection-2
masteringtheelements-JanaHartman-theeriksayconnection-4

Mastering the Elements

Jana Hartmann

The Eriskay Connection

Nominated to the Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation First Photobook Awards 2021

Publication date : 2021/01/01
Poids 1270 g / Dimensions 230 x 312 cm / 240 pages / fr
ISBN 9789492051653

Mastering the Elements is a photographic research on the scientific exploration and conquest of nature from the beginnings of alchemy until the present day. As history shows, scientific findings often have profound implications for society and the lives of individuals. On the other hand, the underlying research is not per se unbiased, but subject to its respective social and historical environment as well as to varying commercial and political interests. Consequently, ethical questions not only around the direction and objectives of modern-day research, but furthermore about the boundaries for the deployment of scientific results should be part of a broader social discourse.

In her work Jana Hartmann addresses various topics that have captivated the curiosity of researchers throughout history and in which the borders of scientific understanding continue to be pushed ever further. Examples being the concept of matter which today is advanced by quantum physics or the pursuit of prolonging human life, reenergized by discoveries in the fields of biogerontology and transhumanism.

The artist took her selectively framed photographs from scientific experiments, natural history exhibits, studio models, and nature itself. By juxtaposing them with excerpts from alchemical writings, scientific papers, and ethical viewpoints, she initiates an intriguing interdisciplinary dialogue between multiple narrative perspectives – the visual artistic, the allegorical alchemistic, the philosophical and the scientific.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

masteringtheelements-JanaHartman-theeriksayconnection-1
masteringtheelements-JanaHartman-theeriksayconnection-3
masteringtheelements-JanaHartman-theeriksayconnection-2
masteringtheelements-JanaHartman-theeriksayconnection-4

Mastering the Elements

Jana Hartmann

The Eriskay Connection

Sélectionné pour le prix du permier livre. Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation Photobooks Awards 2021

Date de parution : 01/01/2021
Poids 1270 g / Dimensions 230 x 312 cm / 240 pages / fr
ISBN 9789492051653

Mastering the Elements est une recherche photographique sur l’exploration scientifique et la conquête de la nature depuis les débuts de l’alchimie jusqu’à nos jours. Comme le montre l’histoire, les découvertes scientifiques ont souvent de profondes répercussions sur la société et la vie des individus. D’autre part, la recherche sous-jacente n’est pas en soi impartiale, mais soumise à son environnement social et historique respectif ainsi qu’à divers intérêts commerciaux et politiques. Par conséquent, les questions éthiques concernant non seulement l’orientation et les objectifs de la recherche moderne, mais aussi les limites de l’utilisation des résultats scientifiques devraient faire partie d’un discours social plus large.

Dans son travail, Jana Hartmann aborde divers sujets qui ont captivé la curiosité des chercheurs à travers l’histoire et pour lesquels les frontières de la compréhension scientifique continuent d’être repoussées. Par exemple, le concept de la matière, qui est aujourd’hui perfectionné par la physique quantique, ou la quête de la prolongation de la vie humaine, relancée par les découvertes dans les domaines de la biogérontologie et du transhumanisme.

L’artiste a pris ses photographies, encadrées de manière sélective, à partir d’expériences scientifiques, d’expositions d’histoire naturelle, de maquettes de studio et de la nature elle-même. En les juxtaposant à des extraits d’écrits alchimiques, d’articles scientifiques et de points de vue éthiques, elle initie un dialogue interdisciplinaire intrigant entre de multiples perspectives narratives – l’art visuel, l’alchimie allégorique, le philosophique et le scientifique.

Vous aimerez aussi

ADS-leguillon-delpire-1

Ads.

Pierre Leguillon

30,00

Contactez-nous
Nom