loader

SUMMER BREAK ! YOUR ONLINE ORDERS WILL BE SHIPPED FROM AUGUST, 25.

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Looking-for-lenin-niels-ackermann-editions-noir-sur-blanc-cover
Looking-for-lenin-niels-ackermann-editions-noir-sur-blanc-visuel-1
Looking-for-lenin-niels-ackermann-editions-noir-sur-blanc-visuel-2
Looking-for-lenin-niels-ackermann-editions-noir-sur-blanc-visuel-3

Looking for Lenin

Niels Ackermann / Sébastien Gobert

Editions Noir sur Blanc

Publication date : 2017/06/15
Weight 558 g / Dimensions 16.7 x 20.7 cm / 176 pages
ISBN 9782882504722

Based in Ukraine for several years, photographer Niels Ackermann and journalist Sébastien Gobert take a curious look at the history of this country. Since the Maïdan revolution, the Ukrainian government has been trying to mark a clear break with the Soviet past twenty-five years after the country’s independence, notably by enacting “decommunization” laws.

The two reporters went in search of the tangible marks of the Soviet period, under its most widespread and apparently banal aspect: the statues of Lenin. These have now disappeared entirely from the Ukrainian landscape. The scene is well known, repeated dozens and hundreds of times since 1990: the statue is thrown to the ground by a large vehicle, grandmothers scream or cry, men smoke, some film the scene. But what happens to the statue after it falls? Is there a cemetery for such emblematic objects? Does the shattered Lenin have a black market value? What do people think of this destruction of symbols?

In their investigation, Niels Ackermann and Sébastien Gobert discover Lenin in the most unlikely places, gardens, garbage dumps, museum corridors, private living rooms… They bring back several interviews with their guardians or owners and magnificent images, zany or offbeat, sometimes tinged with nostalgia. Some Lenin are reconstituted, others customized or diverted – Darth Vader, Cossack or sandwich man. They have become inoffensive everyday objects, and we dedicate to them a form of tenderness, or a fierce hatred: they are the sign of a cumbersome past, which must be seized in order to invent a future for Ukraine.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

FERMETURE ESTIVALE ! VOS ACHATS EN LIGNE VOUS SERONT LIVRÉS À PARTIR DU 25 AOUT — LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Looking-for-lenin-niels-ackermann-editions-noir-sur-blanc-cover
Looking-for-lenin-niels-ackermann-editions-noir-sur-blanc-visuel-1
Looking-for-lenin-niels-ackermann-editions-noir-sur-blanc-visuel-2
Looking-for-lenin-niels-ackermann-editions-noir-sur-blanc-visuel-3

Looking for Lenin

Niels Ackermann / Sébastien Gobert

Editions Noir sur Blanc

Date de parution : 15/06/2017
Poids 558 g / Dimensions 16.7 x 20.7 cm / 176 pages
ISBN 9782882504722

Établis en Ukraine depuis plusieurs années, le photographe Niels Ackermann et le journaliste Sébastien Gobert posent un regard curieux sur l’histoire de ce pays. Depuis la révolution de Maïdan, le gouvernement ukrainien cherche à marquer, vingt-cinq ans après l’indépendance du pays, une rupture nette avec le passé soviétique, notamment en promulguant des lois de « décommunisation ».

Les deux reporters sont partis à la recherche des marques tangibles de la période soviétique, sous son aspect le plus répandu et apparemment banal : les statues de Lénine. Celles-ci ont aujourd’hui entièrement disparu du paysage ukrainien. La scène est bien connue, répétée des dizaines et des centaines de fois depuis 1990 : la statue est jetée à terre par un gros véhicule, les grands-mères crient ou pleurent, les hommes fument, certains filment la scène. Mais que fait-on de la statue après sa chute ? Y a-t-il un cimetière prévu pour ce type d’objets emblématiques ? Le Lénine en miettes a-t-il une valeur au marché noir ? Que pensent les gens de cette destruction des symboles ?

Dans leur enquête, Niels Ackermann et Sébastien Gobert découvrent des Lénine dans les endroits les plus improbables, jardins, décharges, couloirs de musées, salons de particuliers… Ils en ramènent plusieurs entretiens avec leurs gardiens ou propriétaires et de magnifiques images, loufoques ou décalées, parfois teintées de nostalgie. Certains Lénine sont reconstitués, d’autres customisés ou détournés – Dark Vador, cosaque ou homme-sandwich. Devenus objets du quotidien inoffensifs, on leur voue une forme de tendresse, ou une haine farouche : ils sont le signe d’un passé encombrant, dont il faut s’emparer pour inventer un avenir à l’Ukraine.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.