loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

Out of stock

lesviesde-lee-miller-cover
lesviesde-lee-miller--3
lesviesde-lee-miller-1
lesviesde-lee-miller-2
lesviesde-lee-miller-4
lesviesde-lee-miller-5

Les vies de Lee Miller

Antony Penrose

Thames & Hudson

Publication date : 2021/07/15
Weight 352 g / Dimensions 13 x 20 cm - French version
ISBN 9780500297148

New York, 1927: a young woman of classical beauty, Lee Miller was discovered by Condé Nast, made the cover of Vogue and was immortalized by the greatest photographers, including Steichen, Hoyningen-Huene and Horst.

Paris, 1929: friend of Eluard and Picasso, student and companion of Man Ray, she invented with him the photographic technique of solarization, became a brilliant surrealist photographer and played the role of the statue in Le Sang d’un poète by Jean Cocteau.

Europe, 1944-1945: war correspondent for Vogue magazine, she is the only woman to follow the advance of the Allied armies, from the beaches of Normandy to the death camps and Adolf Hitler’s “Eagle’s Nest” in Bavaria. Her photographs of Dachau shocked the world. These are just three of the many lives of Lee Miller, recounted here by his son Antony Penrose, born from her union with the surrealist painter Roland Penrose.

Of this Stendhalian heroine, as astonishingly beautiful as she was fearless, of this troubling traveler, photographer David Sherman said that she “embodied the new woman of the mid-twentieth century”. With 171 illustrations in duotone (a selection of her most beautiful photographs and portraits signed by the greatest photographers), this book retraces the eminently of one of the most extraordinary women of her time.

 

Other titles available

LDN-Anthony-Cairns-Archive-of-modern-conflict-cover

LDN

Antony Cairns

35,00

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

Rupture de stock

lesviesde-lee-miller-cover
lesviesde-lee-miller--3
lesviesde-lee-miller-1
lesviesde-lee-miller-2
lesviesde-lee-miller-4
lesviesde-lee-miller-5

Les vies de Lee Miller

Antony Penrose

Thames & Hudson

Date de parution : 15/07/2021
Poids 352 g / Dimensions 13 x 20 cm
ISBN 9780500297148

New York, 1927 : jeune femme à la beauté classique, Lee Miller est découverte par Condé Nast, fait la couverture de Vogue et se voit immortalisée par les plus grands photographes, dont Steichen, Hoyningen-Huene et Horst.
Paris, 1929 : amie d’Eluard et de Picasso, élève et compagne de Man Ray, elle invente avec lui la technique photographique de la solarisation, devient une brillante photographe surréaliste et joue le rôle de la statue dans Le Sang d’un poète de Jean Cocteau.
Europe, 1944-1945 : correspondante de guerre pour le magazine Vogue, elle est la seule femme à suivre l’avancée des armées alliées, des plages de Normandie aux camps de la mort et au « nid d’aigle » d’Adolf Hitler en Bavière. Ses photographies de Dachau bouleversent le monde entier. Ce ne sont là que trois des nombreuses vies de Lee Miller, relatées ici par son fils Antony Penrose, né de son union avec le peintre surréaliste Roland Penrose.

De cette héroïne stendhalienne aussi étonnamment belle qu’intrépide, de cette troublante voyageuse, le photographe David Sherman disait qu’elle « incarna au plus près la nouvelle femme du milieu du XXe siècle ». Riche de 171 illustrations en duotone (une sélection de ses plus belles photographies et portraits signés par les plus grands photographes), ce livre retrace le parcours éminemment romanesque de celle qui fut l’une des femmes les plus extraordinaires de son temps.

Autres titres disponibles

LDN-Anthony-Cairns-Archive-of-modern-conflict-cover

LDN

Antony Cairns

35,00

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.