loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

koudelka-theatre-delpire
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-1w
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-2w
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-3w
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-4w
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-5w

Koudelka Theatre

Josef Koudelka

delpire & co

IN BOOKSHOPS NOVEMBER 18 - AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER

Publication date : 2021/11/18
96 pages, 210 x 250 mm
58 black and white photographs
Softcover with flaps
Text by Tomáš Pospěch
Design concept by Aleš Najbrt and Josef Koudelka
Design : Studio Najbrt, Prague.
Language : French and English
ISBN 9791095821403

“Moving among the actors on set, I was able to take the same scene, multiple times, but differently. It taught me how to get the most out of a given situation, and I have continued to apply this method to my work.”
Josef Koudelka*

delpire & co is pleased to publish Koudelka Theater, a presentation of 58 newly edited photographs by the photographer, accompanied by a text by photography historian Tomáš Pospěch.

In his own words, Josef Koudelka was not particularly interested in theatre in his youth. When he arrived in Prague from his Moravian village in the late 1950s, his focus was on his studies. His interests were airplanes, folk music, and photography, which he practiced as an amateur. A classmate recommended that he meet his uncle, who worked in the editorial staff of the magazine Divadlo (Theatre), then looking for a photographer. It was in this context that Josef Koudelka, soon to become an aeronautical engineer by profession, became a theatre photographer.

In the 1960s, Prague theatres were one of the rare places in Soviet Czechoslovakia where relative freedom of expression continued. The playwright and essayist Vaclav Havel, future President of the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic (1989-1992) was particularly active there, notably at the Theatre on the Balustrade (Divadlo na zábradlí). Known for its presentation of the Theatre of the Absurd, where directors such as Jan Grossman interpreted Ubu Roi, by Alfred Jarry (1964), Waiting for Godot, by Samuel Beckett, and Intermezzo by Jean Giraudoux. Following the Prague Spring (1968), these stages were forced to close, and their animators dissented or left the country.

There is a rich correlation of levels between Koudelka’s theatrical photography and his later way of conceiving his images as a reflection on the theatre of the world.

Everything that we know of his practice of the image can be found from his beginnings in the work he did in Prague in the 1960s: his attention to graphic composition, his ease of working in tight spaces among people in movement and in difficult lighting situations, his obsession with returning again and again to the same motif, the same gestures and rituals.
It was during the 1960s that he also documented the lives of the gypsies. These two series, created in parallel and over the long term, have many links.

“With the Gypsies, it was theatre too. The difference was that the play had not been written and there was no director – there were only actors. It was reality, it was life. It was a different kind of theatre – it was the theatre of life. I didn’t need to do anything with it. Everything was there. All I had to know was how to react.”
Josef Koudelka
Quote taken from Otomar Krejča, ‘Divadlo, Zkušenost z představení’, in Josef Koudelka, Prague: Torst, 2006.

Koudelka Theatre includes photographs of important productions in two major theaters, the Theatre on the Balustrade and the Theatre Behind the Gate, as well as images made for the covers of Divadlo (Theatre).

The design of the book is inspired by the work of the leading graphic designer and scenographer in the theatrical community in Prague at the time, Libor Fára (1925-1988), husband of Anna Fárová, curator and historian of photography who helped Koudelka at the start of his career.
The typography was created by Studio Najbrt in 2020, from an old typewriter of the time evoking Samizdats, clandestine works banned by Soviet censorship.

*Interview given, Bryn Cambell, World Photography, London, 1981.
Quote taken from Josef Koudelka, L’Epreuve Totalitaire, by Jean-Pierre Montier, Delpire Éditeur, Paris, 2004.

Photographs : © 2021 Josef Koudelka / Magnum Photos
From top to bottom : Ubu Roi (Král Ubu), by Alfred Jarry, directed by Jan Grossman, Divadlo Na zábradlí (Theatre on the Balustrade), Prague, 1964.
Intermezzo, by Jean Giraudoux, directed by Otomar Krejča, Divadlo za branou (Theatre Behind the Gate), Prague, 1967.
Waiting for Godot – En attendant Godot (Čekání na Godota), by Samuel Beckett, directed by Václav Hudeček, Divadlo Na zábradlí (Theatre on the Balustrade), Prague, 1964.
Masks from Ostend (Maškary z Ostende), by Michel de Ghelderode, directed by Otomar Krejča, Divadlo za branou (Theatre Behind the Gate), Prague, 1965.
An Hour of Love (Hodina lásky), by Josef Topol. Directed by Otomar Krejča, Divadlo za branou (Theatre Behind the Gate), Prague, 1968.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

koudelka-theatre-delpire
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-1w
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-2w
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-3w
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-4w
Koudelka-Theatre-delpire-co-5w

Koudelka Theatre

Josef Koudelka

delpire & co

EN LIBRAIRIE LE 18 NOVEMBRE - DISPONIBLE EN PRÉ-COMMANDE

Date de parution : 18/11/2021
96 pages, 210 x 250 mm
58 photographies en noir et blanc
Couverture souple, Broché avec rabats
Texte de Tomáš Pospěch
Conception graphique par Aleš Najbrt et Josef Koudelka
Graphisme : Studio Najbrt, Prague.
Langue : français et anglais
ISBN 9791095821403

«Bougeant au milieu des acteurs, sur le plateau, j’étais capable de prendre la même scène, à de multiples reprises, mais différemment. Cela m’a appris à tirer le meilleur parti d’une situation donnée, et j’ai continué à appliquer cette méthode à mon travail.»
Josef Koudelka*

delpire & co est heureux de publier Koudelka Theatre, une présentation de 58 photographies nouvellement éditées, accompagnée d’un texte de l’historien de la photographie Tomáš Pospěch.

Selon ses propres dires, Josef Koudelka était peu attiré par le théâtre dans sa jeunesse. Lorsqu’il arrive à Prague de son village de Moravie à la fin des années 1950, il se consacre avant tout à ses études. Il s’intéresse alors aux avions, à la musique folklorique et à la photographie, qu’il pratique en amateur. Un camarade de classe lui recommande de rencontrer son oncle, qui travaille à la rédaction de la revue Divadlo (Théâtre), alors à la recherche d’un photographe. C’est dans ce contexte que Josef Koudelka, bientôt ingénieur aéronautique de métier, devient photographe de plateau.

Dans les années 1960, les théâtres praguois font partie des rares lieux de la Tchécoslovaquie soviétique où perdure une relative liberté d’expression. Le dramaturge et essayiste Vaclav Havel, futur président de la République fédérale tchèque et slovaque (1989-1992) y est particulièrement actif, notamment au Théâtre sur la Balustrade (Divadlo na zábradlí). Cette scène est alors un haut lieu du théâtre de l’absurde, où des metteurs en scène tels que Jan Grossman interprètent Ubu Roi, d’Alfred Jarry (1964), En attendant Godot, de Samuel Beckett, ou Intermezzo de Jean Giraudoux… À la suite du Printemps de Prague (1968), ces scènes sont contraintes de fermer, et leurs animateurs entrent en dissidence ou quittent le pays.

Il existe une corrélation riche entre la photographie de théâtre de Koudelka et sa façon ultérieure de concevoir ses images comme une réflexion sur le théâtre du monde.

Tout ce que nous connaissons de sa pratique de l’image se retrouve dès ses débuts dans le travail qu’il réalise à Prague dans les années 1960 : son attention à la composition graphique, sa facilité à travailler dans des espaces restreints parmi des personnes en mouvement et dans des situations d’éclairage difficiles, son obsession à revenir encore et encore sur le même motif, les mêmes gestes et rituels. C’est au cours des années 1960 qu’il documente également la vie des gitans. Ces deux séries, créées en parallèle et sur le temps long, entretiennent de nombreux liens.

«Les Gitans, c’était aussi du théâtre. À cette différence près que la pièce n’était pas écrite d’avance et qu’il n’y avait pas de metteur en scène. Il n’y avait là que des acteurs. C’était le réel, la réalité, la vie. Il y avait tout. C’était un autre type de théâtre, c’était le théâtre de la vie. Sans rien à y arranger. La seule chose qu’il fallait savoir, c’était comment réagir. Il ne dépendait que de moi ce que j’allais en faire.»
Josef Koudelka
Propos recueillis par Otomar Krejča, ‘Divadlo, Zkušenost z představení’, in Josef Koudelka, Prague: Torst, 2006

Koudelka Theatre comprend des photographies de productions importantes dans deux grands théâtres, le Théâtre sur la Balustrade et le Théâtre Derrière la Porte, ainsi que des images réalisées pour les couvertures de Divadlo.

La maquette du livre est inspirée de l’ œuvre du principal graphiste et scénographe de l’époque dans le milieu du théâtre à Prague, Libor Fára (1925-1988), mari d’Anna Fárová, conservatrice et historienne de la photographie qui a aidé Koudelka au début de sa carrière.
La typographie utilisée et a été créée par le Studio Najbrt en 2020, à partir d’une ancienne machine à écrire de l’époque évoquant les Samizdats, ouvrages clandestins interdits par la censure soviétique.

*Interview donnée Bryn Cambell, World Photography, Londres, 1981.
Citation extraite de Josef Koudelka, l’Épreuve Totalitaire, de Jean-Pierre Montier, Delpire Éditeur, Paris,
2004.

Photographies : © 2021 Josef Koudelka / Magnum Photos
De haut en bas : Ubu Roi (Král Ubu), d’Alfred Jarry, mise en scène de Jan Grossman, Divadlo Na zábradlí (Theâtre de la Balustrade), Prague, 1964.
Intermezzo, de Jean Giraudoux, mise en scène de Otomar Krejča, Divadlo za branou (Theâtre Derrière la Porte), Prague, 1967
En attendant Godot (Čekání na Godota), de Samuel Beckett, mise en scène de Václav Hudeček, Divadlo Na zábradlí (Théâtre de la Balustrade), Prague, 1964.
Masques ostendais (Maškary z Ostende), de Michel de Ghelderode, mise en scène by Otomar Krejča, Divadlo za branou (Theâtre Derrière la Porte), Prague, 1965.
An Hour of Love (Hodina lásky), de Josef Topol. mise en scène Otomar Krejča, Divadlo za branou (Theâtre Derrière la Porte), Prague, 1968.

Vous aimerez aussi

Contactez-nous
Nom