loader

SPRING OFFER - SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

Out of stock

Judith-Joy-Ross-Photographies-1978-2015-EXB-cover
Judith-Joy-Ross-Photographies-1978-2015-EXB-visuel-1
Judith-Joy-Ross-Photographies-1978-2015-EXB-visuel-2
Judith-Joy-Ross-Photographies-1978-2015-EXB-visuel-3

Judith Joy Ross - Photographies 1978-2015

Judith Joy Ross

Editions Xavier Barral

Publication date : 2022/01/01
Weight 1890 g / Dimensions 25 x 29 cm / 312 pages
ISBN 9782365113250

This first monograph in French dedicated to Judith Joy Ross accompanies her vast retrospective at the BAL in Paris, presenting a survey of her work from 1978 to 2015. A leading figure in portrait photography, Judith Joy Ross has developed a singular and radical approach that places her in the tradition of the masters of the genre. Direct and astonishingly accurate, her images show, in an empathetic way, the daily life of people who are often ignored or little considered. Throughout his various series, a panorama of the American middle class is revealed, from youth to the adult world.

The use of a camera, with its mahogany stand and box, creates a special relationship between Ross and his subject. The person looking not at the photographer but at the lens, the exchange, which takes place during the time of the capture, makes palpable what is hidden behind the appearances. The printing process, with the use of direct blackening paper which, after turning to gold, gives a luminous tone in a range of cold grays and purplish browns, also contributes to the visual power of these photographs and restores the intensity of the encounter.

This book renews the view of his work, presenting both his most iconic images and others from his personal archives and unpublished. It is accompanied by essays by art historian Svetlana Alpers and curator Joshua Chuang.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Judith-Joy-Ross-Photographies-1978-2015-EXB-cover
Judith-Joy-Ross-Photographies-1978-2015-EXB-visuel-1
Judith-Joy-Ross-Photographies-1978-2015-EXB-visuel-2
Judith-Joy-Ross-Photographies-1978-2015-EXB-visuel-3

Judith Joy Ross - Photographies 1978-2015

Judith Joy Ross

Atelier EXB

Date de parution : 01/01/2022
Poids 1890 g / Dimensions 25 x 29 cm / 312 pages
ISBN 9782365113250

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Cette première monographie en français dédiée à Judith Joy Ross accompagne sa vaste rétrospective au BAL à Paris présentant un parcours de son travail des années 1978 à 2015. Figure du portrait photographique, Judith Joy Ross développe une démarche singulière et radicale qui l’inscrit dans la lignée des maîtres du genre. Directes et étonnantes de justesse, ses images donnent à voir, de manière empathique, le quotidien de personnes souvent ignorées ou peu considérées. Au fil de ses diverses séries se dévoile un panorama de la classe moyenne américaine, de la jeunesse au monde des adultes.

L’usage d’une chambre photographique, avec son pied et sa boîte en acajou, crée entre Ross et son sujet une relation particulière. La personne regardant non pas la photographe mais l’objectif, l’échange, qui se noue durant le temps de la captation, rend palpable ce qui se cache derrière les apparences. Les procédés de tirage, avec l’utilisation de papiers à noircissement direct qui, après virage à l’or donnent une tonalité lumineuse dans une gamme de gris froids et de bruns violacés, participent aussi à la puissance visuelle de ces photographies et restituent l’intensité de la rencontre.

Cet ouvrage renouvelle le regard porté sur son œuvre, en présentant à la fois ses images les plus iconiques mais aussi d’autres extraites de ses archives personnelles et inédites. Il est accompagné d’essais de l’historienne de l’art Svetlana Alpers et du commissaire d’exposition Joshua Chuang.

Autres titres disponibles

Tot-Ricardo-Cases-Dalphine-cover Livre signé

TOT

Ricardo Cases

42,00

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.