loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

jokes-and-cartoons-prince-jrp-editions-cover
jokes-and-cartoons-prince-jrp-editions-2
jokes-and-cartoons-prince-jrp-editions-3
jokes-and-cartoons-prince-jrp-editions-1

Jokes & Cartoons

Richard Prince

JRP|Editions

Publication date : 2006/01/01
Weight 862 g / Dimensions 21.8 x 28 cm / 216 pages
ISBN 9783905701838

American artist Richard Prince recycles found materials from American popular culture, most often images from advertisement and magazine photography which he re-photographs, silkscreens, overpaints, frames, enlarges, or arranges in collages, playing with their somehow empty meaning. Citation, deflection, appropriation: any possible treatment of these clichés is explored and played with. Among these works, jokes and cartoons occupy an important place in his work.

Conceived by the artist, this book gathers together the raw material to his “Joke Paintings” for the first time: unpublished manuscripts, well-known as well as unshown works from his personal collection, cartoons, and jokes. The project comments as much on the perception of his own work through the filter of a devaluated form of humor, as on the popular material appropriated through it.

“Jokes and cartoons are part of any mainstream magazine. Especially magazines like the New Yorker or Playboy. They’re right up there with the editorial and advertisements and table of contents and letters to the editors. Theyr’re part of the layout, part of the “sights” and “gags.” Sometimes they’re political, sometimes they just make fun of everyday life. Once in awhile they drive people to protest and storm foreign embassies and kill people.”
Richard Prince

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

jokes-and-cartoons-prince-jrp-editions-cover
jokes-and-cartoons-prince-jrp-editions-2
jokes-and-cartoons-prince-jrp-editions-3
jokes-and-cartoons-prince-jrp-editions-1

Jokes & Cartoons

Richard Prince

JRP|Editions

Date de parution : 01/01/2006
Poids 862 g / Dimensions 21.8 x 28 cm / 216 pages
ISBN 9783905701838

Richard Prince recycle des matériaux trouvés issus de la culture populaire américaine, le plus souvent des images tirées de la publicité et de la photographie de magazine qu’il re-photographie, sérigraphie, surpeint, encadre, agrandit ou arrange en collages, jouant avec leur signification quelque peu vide. Citation, détournement, appropriation : tout traitement possible de ces clichés est exploré. Parmi ces œuvres, les blagues et les caricatures occupent une place importante dans son travail.

Conçu par l’artiste, ce livre rassemble pour la première fois la matière première de ses « Joke Paintings » : manuscrits inédits, œuvres connues et inédites de sa collection personnelle, caricatures et blagues. Le projet commente autant la perception de son propre travail à travers le filtre d’une forme d’humour dévalorisée, que le matériel populaire qu’il s’est approprié.

« Les blagues et les dessins humoristiques font partie de tout magazine grand public. Surtout des magazines comme le New Yorker ou Playboy. Ils sont au même niveau que l’éditorial, les publicités, la table des matières et les lettres aux rédacteurs. Ils font partie de la mise en page, des « curiosités » et des « gags ». Ils peuvent être politiques, ou se moquent parfois simplement de la vie quotidienne. De temps en temps, ils poussent les gens à manifester, à prendre d’assaut des ambassades étrangères et à tuer des gens. »
Richard Prince

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.