loader

SPRING OFFER - SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-cover
Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-visuel-1
Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-visuel-2
Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-visuel-3
Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-visuel-4

#Ingrid

Zoé Aubry

RVB Books

Publication date : 2020/02/09
Weight 1290 g / Dimensions 22.5 x 32 cm / 352 pages
ISBN 9782492175060

This is Swiss artist Zoé Aubry’s third body of work devoted to femicide, its frequent occurrence, and the ways in which this phenomenon in society is addressed (or not) by the media. When Ingrid Escamilla Vargas was brutally murdered by her male companion, the Mexican tabloids and gutter press avidly circulated grisly images of the atrocious crime, plastered across their front pages. The case unleashed a wave of protests in the country, as it exposed once again how deeply rooted violence against women is in Mexican society. Aubry addresses the violent sensationalism and voyeurism of certain media and uses her art to strongly condemn both the violence and complicity.

This opportunistic move by the gutter press, which had no qualms in plastering the young woman’s dismembered body across its front pages, and the complicity of the police in making it possible, sparked a wave of protests. Spurred by a tweet to do their part in ridding the internet of these gruesome images, social media users around the world posted numerous photos of peaceful lakes, sunsets, fields of flowers and other scenes of natural beauty under the hashtag #IngridEscamillaVargas.
Moved by this collaborative effort, Zoé Aubry, who has been working on the systemic and structural phenomenon of feminicides and the issues raised by their media coverage since 2017, has produced a book that pays homage to the memory of Ingrid E.V., denounces violence against women, and assails the voyeurism of a certain segment of the press.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-cover
Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-visuel-1
Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-visuel-2
Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-visuel-3
Ingrid-zoe-aubry-rvb-books-visuel-4

#Ingrid

Zoé Aubry

RVB Books

Date de parution : 09/02/2020
Poids 1290 g / Dimensions 22.5 x 32 cm / 352 pages
ISBN 9782492175060

Il s’agit du troisième travail de l’artiste suisse Zoé Aubry consacré au féminicide, à son occurrence fréquente et à la manière dont ce phénomène de société est traité (ou non) par les médias. Lorsqu’Ingrid Escamilla Vargas a été sauvagement assassinée par son compagnon, les tabloïds et la presse à scandale mexicains ont avidement diffusé les images macabres de ce crime atroce en première page. L’affaire a déclenché une vague de protestations dans le pays, car elle a révélé une fois de plus à quel point la violence à l’égard des femmes est profondément ancrée dans la société mexicaine. Aubry aborde le sensationnalisme violent et le voyeurisme de certains médias et utilise son art pour condamner fermement la violence et la complicité.

Ce geste opportuniste de la presse à scandale, qui n’a pas hésité à placarder le corps démembré de la jeune femme à la une de ses journaux, et la complicité de la police qui l’a rendu possible, ont déclenché une vague de protestations. Incités par un tweet à contribuer à débarrasser l’internet de ces images terrifiantes, les utilisateurs des médias sociaux du monde entier ont publié de nombreuses photos de lacs paisibles, de couchers de soleil, de champs de fleurs et d’autres scènes de beauté naturelle sous le hashtag #IngridEscamillaVargas.

Émue par cet effort collaboratif, Zoé Aubry, qui travaille depuis 2017 sur le phénomène systémique et structurel des féminicides et les questions soulevées par leur médiatisation, a produit un livre qui rend hommage à la mémoire d’Ingrid E.V., dénonce les violences faites aux femmes et s’en prend au voyeurisme d’une certaine partie de la presse.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.