loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-1
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-5
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-8
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-6
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-9
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-12
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-3

He breaks he cuts he spills

Nikola Mihov

Janet45

Book Signing with the artist at the bookshop on Nov. 25. as part of Un Week-end à l'Est Festival

Publication date : 2021/04/01
Weight 340 g / Dimensions 17 x 21 cm / 112 pages / In English and Bulgarian

He Breaks, He cuts, He spills is a compilation of press photos depicting Todor Zhivkov, Communist leader of Bulgaria from 1954 to 1989. He is seen performing the traditional gestures of Bulgarian hospitality during welcoming and inaugurations ceremonies: breaking bread, cutting ribbons, pouring water in the form of baptism. While ribbon cutting is widely used around the world, the other two customs – welcoming official guests with bread, honey and salt and spilling water on the ground as a sign of good luck, are typical Bulgarian cultural practices.

The images, taken between 1968 and 1988, are from the archives of BTA, the official press agency of the People’s Republic of Bulgaria. They are sequenced in the book into the three themes in no chronological order, and taken out of the propaganda context for which they were originally created.

This accumulation, where we see the leader flanked by officials and first-rank foreign heads of state (Honecker, Gaddafi, Gorbachev, Indira Gandhi, Ceausescu), is punctuated by quotes from Boiko Borissov, at the time his bodyguard, who will himself also become Prime Minister on numerous occasions since 2009, until the spring of 2021. We find a form of continuity between the images of the time of communism and the words of today …

You may also like

nice-mark peckmezian-roma

Nice

Mark Peckmezian

43,00

Contact us
Surname

loader

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-1
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-5
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-8
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-6
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-9
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-12
NikolaMihov-Hebreaks-janet45-3

He breaks he cuts he spills

Nikola Mihov

Janet45

Signature de l'artiste à la librairie le 25 novembre, dans le cadre du festival Un Week-end à l'Est

Date de parution : 01/04/2021
Poids 340 g / Dimensions 17 x 21 cm / 112 pages / en anglais et bulgare

He Breaks, He cuts, He spills est une compilation de photos de presse représentant Todor Jivkov, dirigeant communiste de la Bulgarie de 1954 à 1989. On le voit performer les gestes traditionnels de l’hospitalité bulgare lors de cérémonies d’accueil ou d’inaugurations : rompre le pain, couper des rubans, verser de l’eau en forme de baptême. Si la coupe de rubans est un usage répandu dans le monde, les deux autres coutumes – accueillir les invités officiels avec du pain, du miel et du sel et renverser de l’eau sur le sol en signe de chance, sont des pratiques culturelles typiquement bulgares.

Les images, prises entre 1968 et 1988, sont issues des archives de BTA, l’agence de presse officielle de la République populaire de Bulgarie. Elles sont ordonnées dans le livre en trois thématiques : rompre, couper, verser, sans ordre chronologique, et sorties du contexte de propagande pour lequel elles ont été créées à l’origine.

Cette accumulation, où l’on voit le dirigeant flanqué d’officiels et chefs d’Etats étrangers de premier rang (Honecker, Khadafi, Gorbatchev, Indira Gandhi, Ceausescu), est ponctuée de citations de Boiko Borissov, à l’époque son garde du corps, qui lui-même deviendra Premier ministre à de nombreuses reprises depuis 2009, jusqu’au printemps 2021. On retrouve une forme de continuité entre les images du temps du communisme et les mots d’aujourd’hui…

Vous aimerez aussi

Contactez-nous
Nom