loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-1
fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-5
fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-4
fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-3
fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-2

Equilibres

Peter Fischli / David Weiss

Buchhandlung Walther König

Publication date : 2006/10/09
Weight 801 g / Dimensions 20.3 x 24.1 cm / 168 pages / en
ISBN 9783865601506

The series called Equilibres conveys the irony and off-kilter aspects established in the work of Peter Fischli and David Weiss. Using everyday objects that evoke a familiar environment, the artistic duo proposes a playful game, like the result of a rainy afternoon where entertainment recurs to become an artistic subject. In an unstable position, in a pendulum movement or on the point of collapsing, grater, bottle, brush, carrot and a roll of Sellotape, all of which are straight from the artists’ surroundings, are piled up and held still in a position of brief stability. Sculpture’s traditional dimension is shaken by these assemblages maintained in balance the moment of an instant, immortalised by photography.

By basing them on their appearance, the often poetic titles, such as Ehre, Mut und Zuversicht (Honour, Courage and Confidence), given to these constructions accentuate the wonder and amusement of an action which appears useless. Falling more within the ephemeral, the construction and deconstruction of these precarious inventions stimulate the imagination by playing anew with a surrealist tradition.

The research into the ordinary object and the insignificant, in which the Equilibres series fits, led the two artists to produce the experimental film Der Lauf der Dinge (The Way Things Go) in 1987. The film is thirty minutes long, during which a multitude of events unfolding in a domino effect, the result of an explosion or of the tipping of one object onto another, disturbs the apparent chaos to transform it into a series of unexpected coincidences, nevertheless orchestrated according to a meticulous preparation. Like the culmination of their balancing sculptures, the film divulges what happens at the moment when everything collapses, when these reworked objects free themselves totally from their original purpose. In their artistic approach, the Zurich-based duo reveal in particular the absurdity of wanting to continually find meaning in art and fully integrate the dimension of pleasure and frivolity.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-1
fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-5
fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-4
fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-3
fischli-weiss-equilibres-delpire-co-2

Equilibres

Peter Fischli / David Weiss

Buchhandlung Walther König

Date de parution : 09/10/2006
Poids 801 g / Dimensions 20.3 x 24.1 cm / 168 pages / en
ISBN 9783865601506

La série Equilibres traduit l’ironie et le décalage en place dans le travail de Peter Fischli et David Weiss. À partir d’objets usuels qui évoquent un environnement familier, le duo d’artistes propose un jeu ludique, en tant que résultat d’un après-midi pluvieux où le distrayant se répète pour devenir sujet artistique. En porte-à-faux, en mouvement de balancier ou sur le point de s’effondrer, râpe, bouteille, brosse, carotte et rouleaux de scotch, tout droit sortis de leur plus proche entourage, s’empilent et se maintiennent dans une position de courte stabilité. La dimension traditionnelle de la sculpture se voit ébranlée par ces assemblages tenus en équilibre le temps d’un instant, immortalisés par la photographie.

En se basant sur leur apparence, les titres souvent poétiques donnés à ces constructions, tels que Ehre, Mut und Zuversicht (honneur, courage et confiance), viennent accentuer l’émerveillement et l’amusement d’une action qui paraît inutile. S’inscrivant davantage dans l’éphémère, la construction et la déconstruction de ces inventions précaires stimulent l’imagination en rejouant une tradition surréaliste.

La recherche autour de l’objet ordinaire et de l’insignifiant, dans laquelle s’inscrit la série Equilibres, conduit les deux artistes à produire le film expérimental, Der Lauf der Dinge (Le Cours des Choses), en 1987. Une projection de trente minutes au cours de laquelle une multitude d’événements en cascade, fruit d’explosion ou du basculement d’un objet sur l’autre, vient bousculer l’apparent chaos pour le transformer en un enchaînement de coïncidences inattendues, orchestrées pourtant selon une préparation méticuleuse. Comme l’aboutissement de leurs sculptures en équilibre, le film divulgue ce qui arrive au moment où tout s’effondre, lorsque les objets détournés se libèrent totalement de leur fonction première. Dans sa démarche artistique, le duo zurichois révèle notamment l’absurdité à vouloir continuellement trouver un sens à l’art et intègre pleinement la dimension de plaisir et de légèreté.

Vous aimerez aussi

Contactez-nous
Nom