loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Documents-diane-arbus-david-zwirner-books-cover
Documents-diane-arbus-david-zwirner-books-visuel-1
Documents-diane-arbus-david-zwirner-books-visuel-2
Documents-diane-arbus-david-zwirner-books-visuel-3

Diane Arbus : Documents

Diane Arbus

David Zwirner Books

Shortlisted for the Photography Catalogue of the Year Award, Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation 2022

Publication date : 2022/08/01
Weight 2050 g / Dimensions 21.5 x 28 cm / 498 pages
ISBN 9781644230657

Featured in our selection(s):

Through an assemblage of articles, criticism, and essays from 1967 to the present, this groundbreaking publication charts the reception of the photographer’s work and offers comprehensive insight into the critical conversations, as well as misconceptions, around this highly influential artist.

Best known for her penetrating images exploring what it means to be human, Diane Arbus is a pivotal and singular figure in American postwar photography. Arbus’s black-and-white photographs demolish aesthetic conventions and upend all certainties. Both lauded and criticized for her photographs of people deemed “outsiders,” Arbus continues to be a lightning rod for a wide range of opinions surrounding her subject matter and approach. Critics and writers have described her work as “sinister” and “appalling” as well as “revelatory,” “sincere,” and “compassionate.” Through an assemblage of articles, criticism, and essays from 1967 to the present, Diane Arbus Documents charts the reception of the revolutionary photographer’s work.

Illuminating fifty years of evolution in the field of art criticism, Documents provides a new template for understanding the work of any formidable artist. Organized in eleven sections that focus on major exhibitions and significant events emerging from Arbus’s work, as well as on her methods and intentions, the sixty-nine facsimiles of previously published articles and essays––an archive by all accounts––trace the discourse on Arbus, contextualizing her inimitable oeuvre. Supplemented by an annotated bibliography of more than six hundred entries and a comprehensive exhibition history, Documents serves as an important resource for photographers, researchers, art historians, and art critics, in addition to students of art criticism and the interested reader alike.

Texts by 55 authors, including Hilton Als, A. D. Coleman, Holland Cotter, Jacob Deschin, Germaine Greer, Hilton Kramer, Arthur Lubow, Janet Malcolm, Francine Prose, Sukhdev Sandhu, Peter Schjeldahl, Adrian Searle, Susan Sontag, Lynne Tillman, and Colm Tóibín

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Documents-diane-arbus-david-zwirner-books-cover
Documents-diane-arbus-david-zwirner-books-visuel-1
Documents-diane-arbus-david-zwirner-books-visuel-2
Documents-diane-arbus-david-zwirner-books-visuel-3

Diane Arbus : Documents

Diane Arbus

David Zwirner Books

Sélectionné pour le Prix du Catalogue de l’Année, Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation 2022

Date de parution : 01/08/2022
Poids 2050 g / Dimensions 21.5 x 28 cm / 498 pages
ISBN 9781644230657

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

À travers un assemblage d’articles, de critiques et d’essais datant de 1967 à aujourd’hui, cette publication révolutionnaire retrace la réception du travail de la photographe et offre un aperçu complet des conversations critiques, ainsi que des idées fausses, autour de cette artiste très influente.

Connue surtout pour ses images pénétrantes qui explorent ce que signifie être humain, Diane Arbus est une figure centrale et singulière de la photographie américaine de l’après-guerre. Les photographies en noir et blanc d’Arbus démolissent les conventions esthétiques et bouleversent toutes les certitudes. Encensée et critiquée pour ses photographies de personnes considérées comme “étrangères”, Diane Arbus continue d’être le paratonnerre d’un large éventail d’opinions sur son sujet et son approche. Les critiques et les écrivains ont qualifié son travail de “sinistre” et “effroyable”, mais aussi de “révélateur”, “sincère” et “compatissant”. À travers un ensemble d’articles, de critiques et d’essais datant de 1967 à aujourd’hui, Diane Arbus : Documents retrace la réception du travail de cette photographe révolutionnaire.

En éclairant cinquante ans d’évolution dans le domaine de la critique d’art, Documents fournit un nouveau modèle pour comprendre le travail de tout artiste formidable. Organisé en onze sections qui mettent l’accent sur les expositions majeures et les événements importants découlant de l’œuvre d’Arbus, ainsi que sur ses méthodes et ses intentions, les soixante-neuf fac-similés d’articles et d’essais déjà publiés – une archive à tous égards – retracent le discours sur Arbus, en contextualisant son œuvre inimitable. Complété par une bibliographie annotée de plus de six cents entrées et un historique complet des expositions, Documents est une ressource importante pour les photographes, les chercheurs, les historiens de l’art et les critiques d’art, ainsi que pour les étudiants en critique d’art et les lecteurs intéressés.

Textes de 55 auteurs, dont Hilton Als, A. D. Coleman, Holland Cotter, Jacob Deschin, Germaine Greer, Hilton Kramer, Arthur Lubow, Janet Malcolm, Francine Prose, Sukhdev Sandhu, Peter Schjeldahl, Adrian Searle, Susan Sontag, Lynne Tillman et Colm Tóibín.

Autres titres disponibles

Derby-Ken-graaves-TBW-books-cover

DERBY

Ken Graves / Eva Lipman

52,00

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.