loader

SPRING OFFER - SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Cloud-Physics-Terri-Weifenbach-Editions-EXB-cover
Cloud-Physics-Terri-Weifenbach-Editions-EXB-visuel-1
Cloud-Physics-Terri-Weifenbach-Editions-EXB-visuel-3
Cloud-Physics-Terri-Weifenbach-Editions-EXB-visuel-2

Cloud Physics

Terri Weifenbach

Editions Xavier Barral

Publication date : 2021/06/01
Weight 1224 g / Dimensions 21.5 x 28 cm / 216 pages
ISBN 9782365113069

What perceptions do we have of our environment, what is our relationship to the sensitive world? How to capture the elusive in photography?
For this new series, Terri Weifenbach is interested in living things, nature, water, air, light, fire, and questions the ability of photography to capture the evanescence of natural and sensitive phenomena. Starting from the study of scientific instruments that measure with great precision meteorological events such as cloud formation, the American photographer invites us to explore the changing, metaphorical character of these impalpable events with all the poetry and finesse that characterize her work.

During a residency at one of the scientific observation sites of the Atmospheric Radiation Measurement Research Facility (ARM), dedicated to the study of atmospheric phenomena, Terri Weifenbach photographs measuring instruments – installed on a vast plain in Oklahoma – like readymades. Twilight radiometers, ceilometers, sunphotometers and rain gauges are captured as sentinels recording climate change. Faced with the photographic protocol of these scientific tools, the American photographer deploys an immersive visual corpus: from the salt marshes of St. Catherines Island to the deep valleys of Montana, from the immemorial parks of Nara, Japan, to the Jardin des plantes of the Museum national d’histoire naturelle in Paris, Terri Weifenbach’s images immerse the reader in a nature perceived through its minute variations of light, humidity, and cloudiness. The clouds thicken, are tinged with golden shades, the plant world rustles, sometimes seems to slip away between blur and sharpness, the animal presence is revealed in the hollow of a wood. The photographic gesture becomes perception. Where are we? The reader will know it only at the end…

An essay by Luce Lebart, on the emergence of artists’ interest in meteorological phenomena from the Renaissance to the first scientific studies on clouds published at the dawn of the 19th century, places Terri Weifenbach’s photographic approach in the long artistic quest to try to restore the world’s sensitivity.

You may also like

View our thematic selections

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Cloud-Physics-Terri-Weifenbach-Editions-EXB-cover
Cloud-Physics-Terri-Weifenbach-Editions-EXB-visuel-1
Cloud-Physics-Terri-Weifenbach-Editions-EXB-visuel-3
Cloud-Physics-Terri-Weifenbach-Editions-EXB-visuel-2

Cloud Physics

Terri Weifenbach

Editions Xavier Barral

Date de parution : 01/06/2021
Poids 1224 g / Dimensions 21.5 x 28 cm / 216 pages
ISBN 9782365113069

Quelles perceptions avons-nous de notre environnement, quel est notre rapport au monde sensible ? Comment saisir l’insaisissable en photographie ?
Pour cette nouvelle série, Terri Weifenbach s’est intéressée au vivant, à la nature, l’eau, l’air, la lumière, le feu, et interroge l’aptitude de la photographie à capturer l’évanescence de phénomènes naturels et sensibles. En partant de l’étude d’instruments scientifiques qui mesurent avec une grande précision des manifestations météorologiques telles que la formation des nuages, la photographe américaine nous invite à explorer le caractère changeant, métaphorique, de ces événements impalpables avec toute la poésie et finesse qui caractérisent son travail.

Lors d’une résidence sur l’un des sites d’observation scientifique de l’Atmospheric Radiation Measurement Research Facility (ARM), dédié à l’étude des phénomènes atmosphériques, Terri Weifenbach photographie des instruments de mesure – installés sur une vaste plaine en Oklahoma – tels des ready-made. Radiomètre à rayon crépusculaire, célomètre, photomètre solaire ou encore pluviomètre sont saisis comme des sentinelles enregistreuses du changement climatique. Face au protocole photographique de ces outils scientifiques, la photographe américaine déploie un corpus visuel immersif : des marais salants de St. Catherines Island, aux profondes vallées du Montana, des parcs immémoriaux de Nara, au Japon, au Jardin des plantes du Muséum national d’histoire naturelle de Paris, les images de Terri Weifenbach plongent le lecteur dans une nature perçue à travers ses infimes variations de lumière, d’humidité, de touffeur. Les nuages s’épaississent, se teintent de nuances mordorées, le monde végétal bruisse, semble parfois se dérober entre flou et netteté, la présence animale se révèle au creux d’un bois. Le geste photographique se fait perception. Où sommes-nous ? Le lecteur ne le saura qu’à la fin…

Un essai de Luce Lebart, sur l’émergence de l’intérêt des artistes de la Renaissance pour les phénomènes météorologiques, jusqu’aux premières études scientifiques sur les nuages parues à l’aube du XIXe siècle, inscrit l’approche photographique de Terri Weifenbach dans la longue quête artistique pour tenter de restituer le sensible du monde.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.