loader

SUMMER BREAK ! YOUR ONLINE ORDERS WILL BE SHIPPED FROM AUGUST, 25.

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

champs-de-bataille-yan-morvan-editions-photosyntheses-cover
champs-de-bataille-yan-morvan-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-2
champs-de-bataille-yan-morvan-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-1
champs-de-bataille-yan-morvan-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-3

Champs de Bataille

Yan Morvan

Editions Photosynthèses

Publication date : 2015/11/11
Weight 4482 g / Dimensions 26.3 x 32.5 cm / 660 pages / french
ISBN 9782363980120

“Why and how to photograph the war?

Do we want to inform, to participate in the movement of history? How to tell the unconceivable – images of horror succeed images of horror. The spectacularization of the world by television, the press, the Internet and real-time information has diminished our capital of empathy and our ability to be moved by the misfortune of others.

In 2004, with a Deardorff 20 × 25 camera, I began a series on battlefields. Did these places still tell the story?

Without giving in to raw emotion, I wanted to address the conscience, to show, through landscapes that are sometimes insignificant, a “geography” of human madness.
I was looking for another way to show a reflection on the image and the reality of war. I started to photograph the battlefields of France, the beaches of the D-Day landings, then those of Europe, our family which has so often been torn apart. My project is ambitious: to show the land on which men fought, to tell the story, to reflect on this thought of Heraclitus:

“Conflict / Is the father of all beings, the king of all beings / To some he gave form to gods, to others to men, / He made some slave, others free.” (Fragment 53) “It must be known / That conflict is common [or universal] / That discord is right / And that all things are born and die according to discord and necessity.” (Fragment 80)

I have traveled the battlefields of Europe and the Pacific Ocean, Africa, America, Asia. Some sites are duly listed, marked out, others deserve a meticulous work of investigation and localization – some States do not seem to wish to commemorate the defeats or are amnesic… ”

Yan Morvan

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

FERMETURE ESTIVALE ! VOS ACHATS EN LIGNE VOUS SERONT LIVRÉS À PARTIR DU 25 AOUT — LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

champs-de-bataille-yan-morvan-editions-photosyntheses-cover
champs-de-bataille-yan-morvan-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-2
champs-de-bataille-yan-morvan-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-1
champs-de-bataille-yan-morvan-editions-photosyntheses-visuel-3

Champs de Bataille

Yan Morvan

Editions Photosynthèses

Date de parution : 11/11/2015
Poids 4482 g / Dimensions 26.3 x 32.5 cm / 660 pages / fr
ISBN 9782363980120

« Pourquoi et comment photographier la guerre ?

Volonté d’informer, de participer au mouvement de l’histoire ? Comment raconter l’inracontable – les images d’horreur succèdent aux images d’horreur. La spectacularisation du monde par la télévision, la presse, Internet et l’information en temps réel ont entamé notre capital d’empathie et notre faculté à nous émouvoir du malheur des autres.

En 2004, avec une chambre photographique Deardorff 20 × 25, je commençais une série sur les lieux de batailles. Ces lieux racontaient-ils encore l’histoire ?

Sans céder à l’émotion brute, je voulais m’adresser à la conscience, montrer par des paysages parfois anodins une “géographie” de la démence humaine.
Je recherchais une autre manière de témoigner d’une réflexion sur l’image et de la réalité de la guerre. J’ai commencé à photographier les champs de bataille de France, les plages du débarquement, puis ceux de l’Europe, notre famille qui s’est si souvent déchirée. Mon projet est ambitieux : montrer la terre sur laquelle les hommes se sont battus, raconter l’histoire, réfléchir sur cette pensée d’Héraclite :

“Conflit / est le père de tous les êtres, le roi de tous les êtres / Aux uns il a donné forme de dieux, aux autres d’hommes, / Il a fait les uns esclave, les autres libres.” (Fragment 53) “Il faut connaître / que le conflit est commun [ou universel] / que la discorde est le droit / et que toutes choses naissent et meurent selon discorde et nécessité.” (Fragment 80)

J’ai parcouru les champs de bataille d’Europe et de l’océan Pacifique, d’Afrique, d’Amérique, d’Asie. Certains sites sont dûment répertoriés, balisés, d’autres méritent un travail minutieux d’enquête et de localisation – certains États ne semblent pas désireux de commémorer les défaites ou bien sont amnésiques… »

Yan Morvan

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.