loader

SPRING OFFER - SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Cas-Oorthuys_Xavier-Barral_cover

Cas Oorthuys

Cas Oorthuys

Editions Xavier Barral

Publication date : 2018/10/04
Weight 2350 g / Dimensions 22.2 x 28.7 cm / 528 pages / fr
ISBN 9782365111799

A member of the so-called New Photography generation and a major figure in Dutch photography, Cas Oorthuys (1908-1975) travelled the world from the interwar years to the 1970s. Through a unique testimony of nearly 500,000 photographs, most of them in 6×6 format, his images blend the small and the large history. He joined the resistance during the Second World War and continued to take secret photos of clandestine meetings, the famine in Amsterdam and the Liberation.
After the war, his photographs give a glimpse of recent social and geographical changes through industry, the working class and peasant worlds, the urbanization of large cities such as New York or Paris, the end of the colonies in Southeast Asia or the small villages of Central Europe and the Mediterranean. Through an extremely masterful framing, these snapshots show us the emergence of modern society. Oorthuys takes a free, poetic and benevolent look at his subjects.

This body of work, presented in the form of contact sheets made by the artist and his wife Lydia, and punctuated by close-up images, offers a selection of nearly 500 photographs from the archives of the Nederlands Fotomuseum in Rotterdam.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

OFFRE DE PRINTEMPS : LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Cas-Oorthuys_Xavier-Barral_cover

Cas Oorthuys

Cas Oorthuys

Editions Xavier Barral

Date de parution : 04/10/2018
Poids 2350 g / Dimensions 22.2 x 28.7 cm / 528 pages / fr
ISBN 9782365111799

Issu de la génération dite de la New Photography et figure majeure de la photographie néerlandaise, Cas Oorthuys (1908-1975) a parcouru le monde de l’entre-deux-guerres aux années 1970. À travers un témoignage unique de près de 500000 photographies pour la plupart en 6×6, ses images mêlent la petite et la grande histoire. Entré dans la résistance pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, il continue à prendre secrètement des photos de réunions clandestines, de la famine à Amsterdam puis de la Libération.
Après-guerre, ses photographies laissent entrevoir les récentes mutations sociales et géographiques à travers l’industrie, les mondes ouvrier et paysan, l’urbanisation des grandes villes comme New York ou Paris, la fin des colonies en Asie du Sud-Est ou encore les petits villages de l’Europe centrale et méditerranéenne. À travers un cadrage d’une extrême maîtrise, ces instantanés nous donnent à voir l’émergence de la société moderne. Oorthuys pose un regard à la fois libre, poétique et bienveillant sur ses sujets.

Ce corpus présenté sous la forme de planches contact réalisées par l’artiste et sa femme Lydia, et ponctuées d’images en gros plan, propose une sélection de près de 500 photographies issues des archives du Nederlands Fotomuseum de Rotterdam.

Autres titres disponibles

Retrouvez nos dernières sélections

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.