loader

SUMMER BREAK ! YOUR ONLINE ORDERS WILL BE SHIPPED FROM AUGUST, 25.

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

August-collier-schorr-mack-books-cover
August-collier-schorr-mack-books-visuel-1
August-collier-schorr-mack-books-visuel-2
August-collier-schorr-mack-books-visuel-3

August

Collier Schorr

Mack Books

Publication date : 2022/05/01
Weight 1022 g / Dimensions 26 x 32 cm / 104 pages / english
ISBN 9781913620707

Featured in our selection(s):

In the early 1990s, Collier Schorr began working intermittently in southern Germany, compiling a documentary and fictional portrait of a small town inhabited by historical apparitions. Combining the roles of war photographer, traveling portraitist, anthropologist, and family historian, Collier Schorr tells the intertwined stories of a place and time determined by memory, nationalism, war, emigration and family.

August uses Polaroids made by Collier Schorr in Schwabish Gmund and in this period to explore the liminal space of images that were never intended to persist beyond the immediate moment. Looking back some twenty years, August tells the story of the work, but also examines the devices of fabrication, revealing the mistakes made in the attempt to merge contemporary Germans into their past, implicitly exposing the distance between the artist and the subject, and between the subject and the costumes. Aware of the demons and pitfalls of historical authority, Schorr probes the space between identification and critique – A German Boy in a Feather Boa, posed after Lina Wertmuller’s The Night Porter, underscores her interest in the performative history of fetishism and uniform, and how history moves between documentary and fiction, distance and desire.

August is the third volume in a series of books entitled Forests and Fields (Wald und Wiesen), after Neighbours/Nachbarn (2006) and Blumen (2010). Forests and Fields is inherently about bookmaking, a continuous suite of artists’ books that uses traditional notions of category to create different points of view. Each publication is part journal, part annual photo, part palimpsest, and part scrapbook, and involves a process that continually develops and contradicts the artist’s work by re-editing the work to create new views through the material. The books share similar dimensions, but each is conceived as an independent and unique work in itself. The final volume will be text-based, a collection of commissioned and re-edited writings inspired by the ideas explored in the images. A special signed and numbered boxed edition of the complete Forest and Fields set will be available upon completion of the project.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

August-collier-schorr-mack-books-cover
August-collier-schorr-mack-books-visuel-1
August-collier-schorr-mack-books-visuel-2
August-collier-schorr-mack-books-visuel-3

August

Collier Schorr

Mack Books

Date de parution : 01/05/2022
Poids 1022 g / Dimensions 26 x 32 cm / 104 pages / anglais
ISBN 9781913620707

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Au début des années 1990, Collier Schorr a commencé à travailler de façon intermittente dans le sud de l’Allemagne, en compilant un documentaire et un portrait fictif d’une petite ville habitée par des apparitions historiques. Combinant les rôles de photographe de guerre, de portraitiste itinérant, d’anthropologue et d’historien de la famille, Collier Schorr raconte les histoires entrelacées d’un lieu et d’un temps déterminés par la mémoire, le nationalisme, la guerre, l’émigration et la famille.

August utilise les polaroïds réalisés par Collier Schorr à Schwabish Gmund et dans cette période pour explorer l’espace liminal des images qui n’ont jamais été destinés à persister au-delà du moment immédiat. Avec une vingtaine d’années en arrière, August raconte l’histoire de l’œuvre, mais examine aussi les dispositifs de fabrication, révélant les erreurs commises dans la tentative de fusionner les Allemands contemporains dans leur passé, exposant implicitement la distance entre l’artiste et le sujet, et entre le sujet et les costumes. Consciente des démons et des écueils de l’autorité historique, Schorr sonde l’espace entre l’identification et la critique – A German Boy in a Feather Boa, pris après The Night Porter de Lina Wertmuller, souligne son intérêt pour l’histoire performative du fétichisme et de l’uniforme, et la façon dont l’histoire se déplace entre le documentaire et la fiction, la distance et le désir.

August est le troisième volume d’une série de livres intitulée Forests and Fields (Wald und Wiesen), après Neighbours/Nachbarn (2006) et Blumen (2010). Forests and Fields est intrinsèquement à propos de la fabrication de livres, une suite continue de livres d’artistes qui utilise les notions traditionnelles de catégorie pour créer différents points de vue. Chaque publication est une partie journal, photo annuelle, palimpseste, et scrapbook, et implique un processus qui ne cesse de se développer et contredit l’œuvre de l’artiste par réédition de l’œuvre pour créer de nouvelles vues à travers le matériau. Les livres partagent des dimensions similaires, mais chacun est conçu comme une œuvre indépendante et unique en soi. Le volume final sera basé sur le texte, une collection d’écrits commandés et réédités inspirés par les idées explorées dans les images. Une édition spéciale en boîte, numérotée et signée de l’ensemble complet de la série Forest and Fields sera disponible une fois le projet terminé.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.