loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

atget-voir-paris-delpire-co
atget-voir-paris-delpire-co
atget-voir-paris-delpire-co
atget-voir-paris-delpire-co
atget-voir-paris-delpire-co

Atget - Voir Paris

Eugène Atget

Editions Xavier Barral

Publication date : 2020/11/19
Weight 1113 g / Dimensions 22 x 26.6 cm / 224 pages / text in French
ISBN 9782365112819

The most famous photographer of old Paris, Eugène Atget (1857–1927) has roamed relentlessly the capital with his bellows view camera loaded with glass plates from 1897 and for over thirty years, capturing the topography of a changing city. The result of a two-year research led by Anne de Mondenard and Agnès Sire, this publication gathers a selection of 146 photographs among the 9164 prints composing the Atget archive at the Carnavalet Museum in Paris. Conceived as a poetic and visual stroll, Voir Paris takes us into a time machine through street vendors, stalls, the courtyards of buildings, well-off interiors, alleyways, cafes, local rag dealers, urban gardens, the banks of the Seine…

Preferring the early morning light, his absolute mastery of framing, his careful attention to the lines of buildings, to unexpected details and abandoned items develop a unique world. In Atget’s work, photography is reduced to the sum of its parts without any baroque frills. Through his frontal views and his vision combining real and imaginary, Atget invented modern photography.

The photographs, printed with a four-color process, retain their original irregular edges in the book. In this way, they show all the materiality and tone of the original prints which is unprecedented in the publication of Atget’s work.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

atget-voir-paris-delpire-co
atget-voir-paris-delpire-co
atget-voir-paris-delpire-co
atget-voir-paris-delpire-co
atget-voir-paris-delpire-co

Atget - Voir Paris

Eugène Atget

Editions Xavier Barral

Date de parution : 19/11/2020
Poids 1113 g / Dimensions 22 x 26.6 cm / 224 pages / fr
ISBN 9782365112819

Photographe le plus célèbre du vieux Paris, Eugène Atget (1857-1927) a parcouru inlassablement la capitale avec sa chambre à soufflet chargée de plaques de verre à partir de 1897, et ce pendant trente ans, en saisissant la topographie d’une ville qui change. Fruit d’un travail de recherche de deux ans, effectué conjointement par Anne de Mondenard et Agnès Sire, cet ouvrage rassemble une sélection de 146 photographies parmi les 9 164 tirages qui constituent le fonds Atget du musée Carnavalet. Conçu comme une promenade onirique et esthétique, Voir Paris nous fait voyager dans le temps à travers les étalages, les cours d’immeuble, intérieurs cossus, ruelles, cafés, chiffonniers de la zone, jardins urbains, quais de la Seine…

Privilégiant les lumières du petit matin, sa maîtrise absolue du cadrage, son attention aux lignes des bâtiments, aux détails inattendus, aux choses abandonnées élaborent un univers singulier. Chez Atget, la photographie est réduite à elle-même, elle n’a aucun apprêt. Par son regard, par sa vision qui mêle imaginaire et réel, Eugène Atget a inventé la photographie moderne.

Les photographies, imprimées en quadrichromie, conservent leurs bords originaux dans l’ouvrage. Elles témoignent ainsi de la matérialité et de la tonalité des tirages originaux, ce qui est sans précédent dans la publication de l’œuvre d’Atget.

Vous aimerez aussi

Contactez-nous
Nom