loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Stacy-Kranitz-As-It-Was-Given-To-Me_0e71a7c5-2bc2-4c48-9a68-0b2e6aa18fbb_2048x
Kranitz-As-It-Was-Given-05_2048x
Kranitz-As-It-Was-Given-02_2048x
Kranitz-As-It-Was-Given-04_2048x

As it was given to me

Stacy Kranitz

Twins Palms Publishers

Shortlisted for the First Photobook Award, Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation 2022

Publication date : 2022/04/30
Weight 1810 g / Dimensions 23 x 29.5 cm / 304 pages
225 four color plates
clothbound hardcover
foil-stamped front and back covers
ISBN 9781936611195

For the past twelve years, Stacy Kranitz has been making photographs in the Appalachian region of the United States in order to explore how photography can solidify or demystify stereotypes, and interpret memory and history in a region where the medium has failed to provide an equitable depiction of its people. Rather than reinforcing conventional views of Appalachia as a poverty-ridden region, or by selectively dwelling on positive aspects of the place and its people to offset problematic stereotypes, this work insists that each of these options are equally problematic ways of looking at place.

This work does not attempt to illustrate a certain type of injustice in the hope of remedying it. Instead, Kranitz has come to Appalachia to open up a new kind of narrative, one that examines our understanding of culture and place in a manner that is poised between notions of right and wrong.

As the narrative of As it Was Give(n) To Me unfolds, the book provides an intimate perspective on a region forced to transition away from coal extraction as its dominant source of economic stability, an opioid epidemic that has wreaked havoc on communities, and the role of Appalachia in a politically divided nation.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Stacy-Kranitz-As-It-Was-Given-To-Me_0e71a7c5-2bc2-4c48-9a68-0b2e6aa18fbb_2048x
Kranitz-As-It-Was-Given-05_2048x
Kranitz-As-It-Was-Given-02_2048x
Kranitz-As-It-Was-Given-04_2048x

As it was given to me

Stacy Kranitz

Twins Palms Publishers

Sélectionné pour le Prix du Premier Livre, Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation 2022

Date de parution : 30/04/2022
Poids 1810 g / Dimensions 23 x 29.5 cm / 304 pages
ISBN 9781936611195

Au cours des douze dernières années, Stacy Kranitz a réalisé des photographies dans la région des Appalaches aux États-Unis afin d’explorer comment la photographie peut renforcer ou démystifier les stéréotypes, et interpréter la mémoire et l’histoire dans une région où le médium n’a pas réussi à fournir une représentation équitable de ses habitants. Plutôt que de renforcer la vision conventionnelle des Appalaches en tant que région pauvre, ou de s’attarder de manière sélective sur les aspects positifs de l’endroit et de ses habitants pour contrebalancer les stéréotypes problématiques, ce travail insiste sur le fait que chacune de ces options est une manière tout aussi problématique de voir l’endroit.

Ce travail ne tente pas d’illustrer un certain type d’injustice dans l’espoir d’y remédier. Au contraire, Kranitz est venu dans les Appalaches pour ouvrir un nouveau type de récit, qui examine notre compréhension de la culture et du lieu d’une manière qui se situe entre les notions de bien et de mal.

Au fur et à mesure que se déroule le récit de As it Was Give(n) To Me, le livre offre un point de vue intime sur une région contrainte de renoncer à l’extraction du charbon comme source dominante de stabilité économique, sur une épidémie d’opioïdes qui a fait des ravages dans les communautés et sur le rôle des Appalaches dans une nation politiquement divisée.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.