loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_cover
Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_visuel-2
Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_visuel-3
Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_visuel-4
Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_visuel-5

Apiary

Robin Friend

Loose Joints Publishing

Publication date : 2021/11/05
Poids 600 g / Dimensions 25 x 25 cm / 132 pages / fr
ISBN 9781912719310

Robin Friend’s second book Apiary continues to explore the surreal and sinister haunting of the British landscape he first depicted in Bastard Countryside with an apocalyptic, nocturnal series flirting with notions of democracy and resistance.

Apiary uses a cinematic lens to uncover the dark underbelly of Lewes, a town in South East England renowned for its wild, bacchanalian, festivities around Guy Fawkes’ Night, the uniquely British festivity celebrating the failure of an attempted act of extreme political terrorism. However, Friend’s images are a far cry from an exercise in folklore; tight cropping, intensified details and a push-and-pull between the crowd and individual recall images of riots and political insurrections.

Apiary is a shadow space, reflecting a contemporary moment where ideas of democracy, identity and cohesion feel stretched to breaking point. Friend uses the night as a metaphor to consider the rippling reflections of unrest, inequality and instability lapping the British Isles.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_cover
Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_visuel-2
Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_visuel-3
Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_visuel-4
Apiary_Robin-Friend_Loose-Joints-Publishing_visuel-5

Apiary

Robin Friend

Loose Joints Publishing

Date de parution : 05/11/2021
Poids 600 g / Dimensions 25 x 25 cm / 132 pages / fr
ISBN 9781912719310

Le deuxième livre de Robin Friend,  Apiary,  continue d’explorer la hantise surréaliste et sinistre des paysages britanniques qu’il a dépeints pour la première fois dans Bastard Countryside avec une série apocalyptique et nocturne flirtant avec les notions de démocratie et de résistance.

Apiary utilise un objectif cinématographique pour découvrir les dessous sombres de Lewes, une ville du sud-est de l’Angleterre réputée pour ses festivités sauvages et bacchanales autour de la Guy Fawkes’ Night, une fête typiquement britannique célébrant l’échec d’une tentative d’acte de terrorisme politique extrême. Cependant, les images de Friend sont loin d’un exercice de folklore ; un recadrage serré, des détails intensifiés et un va-et-vient entre la foule et l’individu rappellent des images d’émeutes et d’insurrections politiques.

Apiary est un espace d’ombre, qui reflète un moment contemporain où les idées de démocratie, d’identité et de cohésion sont poussées à leur paroxysme. Friend utilise la nuit comme une métaphore pour considérer les reflets ondulants de l’agitation, de l’inégalité et de l’instabilité qui parcourent les îles britanniques.

Vous aimerez aussi

Contactez-nous
Nom