loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

another-country-gerry-badger-thames-hudson-cover
another-country-gerry-badger-thames-hudson-visuel-1
another-country-gerry-badger-thames-hudson-visuel-2
another-country-gerry-badger-thames-hudson-visuel-3

Another Country

Gerry Badger

Thames & Hudson

Publication date : 2022/05/19
Weight 2069 g / Dimensions 25 x 30 cm / 312 pages / english
ISBN 9780500022177

Featured in our selection(s):

From the Second World War to Brexit and Covid-19, a vividly written, generously illustrated history of British documentary photography by renowned writer and critic Gerry Badger.

Another Country offers a lively, vital rethinking of British documentary photography over the last seven decades. This collection includes a diverse range of photographers working in an exciting array of photographic and artistic modes, encompassing images from iconic reportage to photo-text pieces, from self-portraits to political photo-collages.

As Britain takes an increasingly significant place in the history of documentary photography, award-winning photography writer and critic Gerry Badger brings vital context and breadth to the conversation. Organized chronologically, each chapter spans a particular period of social and cultural history, focusing on the major photographers, figures, institutions, publications, and galleries that shaped the photographic climate of their time, as well as the broader tastes of the era. Chapter-by-chapter picture sections present famous works alongside forgotten masterpieces, interspersed with focused commentaries on selected photographs. This multilayered approach provides a rich understanding of the evolution and sheer variety of British documentary photography.

A must-have for anyone interested in the history of photography, this book is a comprehensive overview of how photographers and photo- artists have depicted Britain and British society over the last seventy years.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

another-country-gerry-badger-thames-hudson-cover
another-country-gerry-badger-thames-hudson-visuel-1
another-country-gerry-badger-thames-hudson-visuel-2
another-country-gerry-badger-thames-hudson-visuel-3

Another Country

Gerry Badger

Thames & Hudson

Date de parution : 19/05/2022
Poids 2069 g / Dimensions 25 x 30 cm / 312 pages / anglais
ISBN 9780500022177

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

De la Seconde Guerre mondiale au Brexit et au Covid-19, une histoire de la photographie documentaire britannique, écrite de manière vivante et généreusement illustrée par l’écrivain et critique renommé Gerry Badger.

Another Country offre une nouvelle réflexion vivante et vitale sur la photographie documentaire britannique des sept dernières décennies. Cette collection comprend un large éventail de photographes travaillant dans une gamme passionnante de modes photographiques et artistiques, englobant des images allant du reportage iconique aux pièces de photo-texte, des autoportraits aux photo-collages politiques.

Alors que la Grande-Bretagne prend une place de plus en plus importante dans l’histoire de la photographie documentaire, Gerry Badger, écrivain et critique de photographie primé, apporte un contexte et une ampleur essentiels à la conversation. Organisé chronologiquement, chaque chapitre couvre une période particulière de l’histoire sociale et culturelle, en se concentrant sur les principaux photographes, personnages, institutions, publications et galeries qui ont façonné le climat photographique de leur époque, ainsi que les goûts plus généraux de l’époque. Des sections illustrées chapitre par chapitre présentent des œuvres célèbres aux côtés de chefs-d’œuvre oubliés, entrecoupées de commentaires ciblés sur des photographies sélectionnées. Cette approche à plusieurs niveaux permet de mieux comprendre l’évolution et la variété de la photographie documentaire britannique.

Incontournable pour tous ceux qui s’intéressent à l’histoire de la photographie, ce livre offre un aperçu complet de la manière dont les photographes et les artistes photographes ont dépeint la Grande-Bretagne et la société britannique au cours des soixante-dix dernières années.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.