loader

Out of stock

VassanthaYoganantha-amma-chosecommune-1

Amma

Vassantha Yogananthan

Chose Commune

Jurors’ Special Mention Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards 2021

Publication date : 2021/09/27
Poids 1067 g / Dimensions 24.5 x 30 cm / 168 pages /Cover artwork: Jatinder Singh Durhailay
24,5 x 30 cm
Softcover with flaps
60 photographs tipped-in by hand
168 pages
French/English


ISBN 9791096383221

A Myth of Two Souls (2013-2021) is inspired by the epic tale The Ramayana. Drawing inspiration from the imagery associated with this myth and its pervasiveness in everyday Indian life, Vasantha Yogananthan has retraced the legendary route from Nepal to India to Sri Lanka. First recorded by the Sanskrit poet Valmiki around 300 BC, The Ramayana has been continuously rewritten and reinterpreted, and continues to evolve today. Yogananthan’s series is informed by the notion of a journey in time and space and offers a modern retelling of the tale.

The seventh and last chapter, Amma (‘Mother’ in Tamil language) closes the project A Myth of Two Souls, after 437 pictures published over seven books (2016-2021). To celebrate this epic saga, Chose Commune releases a very special book in close collaboration with the artist — a book with 60 photographs tipped-in by hand (printed and bound in Italy).

Amma is centered around the princess Sita and deals with the concept of ‘purity’. By no means a happy ending, the closure of The Ramayana forces us to question Rama’s behaviour and his obedience to rules set by a patriarchal society. On the other hand, Sita’s beliefs and actions are free from culture. Sita means furrow in sanskrit, she is the daughter of the Earth.

The pictures composing Amma take us from the seacoast of Sri Lanka, to the city of Ayodhya to the jungle of Bihar, India. Their chromatic scale recreate a world where civilization gradually disappears to leave room to a purely metaphysical space. The Ramayana has neither end nor beginning. It represents the circle of life and therefore it will always be.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

Rupture de stock

VassanthaYoganantha-amma-chosecommune-1

Amma

Vassantha Yogananthan

Chose Commune

Mention spéciale du jury Paris Photo - Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards 2021

Date de parution : 27/09/2021
Poids 1067 g / Dimensions 24.5 x 30 cm / 168 pages / fr
Photographies et texte: Vasantha Yogananthan
Illustration de la couverture: Jatinder Singh Durhailay
Couverture souple avec rabats
60 photographies collées à la main
168 pages
Français/Anglais

ISBN 9791096383221

A Myth of Two Souls (2013-2021) propose une relecture contemporaine du Ramayana, au long d’un voyage dans le temps et dans l’espace. S’inspirant de l’iconographie générée par le mythe et sa prégnance dans la société indienne, Vasantha Yogananthan a retracé l’itinéraire emprunté par les héros de l’épopée du Népal, à l’Inde et au Sri Lanka. Le Ramayana a été écrit en sanskrit par le poète Valmiki autour du 4ème siècle de notre ère. Il a traversé les âges en étant continuellement ré-écrit et ré-interprété et continue à évoluer aujourd’hui.

Septième et dernier chapitre, Amma (qui signifie « mère » en tamoul) clôt le projet A Myth of Two Souls après 437 photographies publiées dans 7 livres (2016-2021). Pour célébrer cette épopée, Chose Commune publie, en collaboration étroite avec l’artiste, un livre dont l’intégralité des 60 photographies sont collées à la main (impression et reliure réalisées en Italie).

Les images qui composent Amma ont été réalisées au fil de treize voyages en Inde et au Sri Lanka (2013-2021). Amma est centré autour du personnage de la princesse Sita et questionne le concept de « pureté ». La fin du Ramayana, loin d’un « happy ending », met en lumière la cruauté de Rama et sa soumission aveugle aux croyances d’une société patriarcale. Sita, fille de la terre — son nom signifie sillon en sanskrit — est elle libre de réaliser des choix non dictés par la culture des hommes.

Les photographies composant Amma ont été réalisées le long des côtes du Sri Lanka, dans la ville d’Ayodhya jusqu’à la jungle du Bihar, en Inde. Leur palette chromatique recrée un monde où la civilisation disparait peu à peu, laissant place à un espace purement métaphysique. Le Ramayana n’a ni fin ni commencement, il représente le cycle de la vie. Il a toujours été et sera toujours.

Vous aimerez aussi

Contactez-nous
Nom