loader

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

Amazonia_Kateryna-Botanova_Sternberg-Press_cover

Amazonia - Anthology as Cosmology

Kateryna Botanova / Quinn Latimer

Sternberg Press

Publication date : 2021/09/01
Weight 730 g / Dimensions 21 x 26 cm / 352 pages
ISBN 9783956796111

Amazonia: Anthology as Cosmology is devoted to Amazonia, its peoples, allies, and nonhuman spirits, and their myriad material and immaterial practices, from certain cosmopolitics and visual languages to past and present forms of resistance.
In all their various lines (and circles) of ecological and epistemological thought, the artists, elders, writers, theorists, shamans, curators, poets, and activists whose ideas, images, and struggles compose this book, are concerned with Amazonia as both a place and a point of view. Through the weaving of voices, myths, ancestors, and territories, and all their radical subjectivities, we understand language in this anthology in an extended sense: as testimony, textile, painting, river, forest, animal, ancestor, song, spirit, and sacred medicine.
Amazonia: Anthology as Cosmology inquires into decolonial feminisms and Indigenous temporalities, externalized memory and erasure, sacred plants in the shadow of pandemic corporate-state extractivism and systemic violence, the activist possibilities of the mythic imagination, and the common visual matrices of the Amazonian universe. The book also weighs the Western imaginary of the Amazon, both its colonial roots in racial capitalism and its corporate, technological, paternalistic present. Centered, however, is Amazonia itself, in all its many and numinous worlds and languages—visual, oral, botanical, ancestral, cosmological—by which it becomes narrated, passed on, and then narrated again.

You may also like

Contact us
Surname

loader

OFFRE DE PRINTEMPS : LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 60 EUROS D'ACHAT

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

Amazonia_Kateryna-Botanova_Sternberg-Press_cover

Amazonia - Anthology as Cosmology

Kateryna Botanova / Quinn Latimer

Sternberg Press

Date de parution : 01/09/2021
Poids 730 g / Dimensions 21 x 26 cm / 352 pages
ISBN 9783956796111

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Amazonia : Anthology as Cosmology est consacré à l’Amazonie, ses peuples, ses alliés et ses esprits non humains, ainsi qu’à leurs innombrables pratiques matérielles et immatérielles, depuis certaines cosmopolitiques et certains langages visuels jusqu’aux formes de résistance passées et présentes.
Dans leurs différentes lignes (et cercles) de pensée écologique et épistémologique, les artistes, les anciens, les écrivains, les théoriciens, les chamans, les conservateurs, les poètes et les activistes dont les idées, les images et les luttes composent ce livre, sont concernés par l’Amazonie à la fois comme lieu et comme point de vue. À travers le tissage des voix, des mythes, des ancêtres et des territoires, et toutes leurs subjectivités radicales, nous comprenons le langage dans cette anthologie dans un sens élargi : comme témoignage, textile, peinture, rivière, forêt, animal, ancêtre, chant, esprit et médecine sacrée.
Amazonia : Anthology as Cosmology interroge les féminismes décoloniaux et les temporalités autochtones, la mémoire externalisée et l’effacement, les plantes sacrées à l’ombre de l’extractivisme pandémique des entreprises et des États et de la violence systémique, les possibilités militantes de l’imagination mythique et les matrices visuelles communes de l’univers amazonien. Le livre examine également l’imaginaire occidental de l’Amazonie, tant ses racines coloniales dans le capitalisme racial que son présent corporatif, technologique et paternaliste. Cependant, c’est l’Amazonie elle-même qui est au centre de l’ouvrage, dans tous ses mondes et langages nombreux et numineux – visuels, oraux, botaniques, ancestraux, cosmologiques – par lesquels elle est racontée, transmise, puis racontée à nouveau.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.