INTERVIEW
THE PHOTOBOOK REVIEW

AFRICA in the PhotoBook
Azu Nwagbogu—Ben Krewinkel

Azu Nwagbogu is the founder and director of both LagosPhoto, Nigeria, and the African Artists’ Foundation, a non-profit organization based in Lagos, dedicated to the promotion and development of contemporary African arts and artists. He also founded the National Art Competition in Nigeria and the virtual space Art Base Africa.


I first met Ben Krewinkel in Lagos, Nigeria, when he attended the 2015 edition of the LagosPhoto festival as an exhibiting artist. Guest curator Cristina de Middel had selected his body of work Looking for M. (f0.23 publishing, 2013), a thoughtful and cleverly edited publication that juxtaposes archival images concerning Mozambique’s revolutionary Marxist–Leninist ideology with contemporary capitalist realities found in the cityscapes and on the advertising billboards of Maputo. At this stage in 2015, Krewinkel’s online archive of photobooks on Africa was still in its early stages and only available on Facebook.

            In August 2020, I found myself in Amsterdam and eager to see how this recognized archive had evolved from a Facebook page into an important visual reference that problematizes the discourse of visual representations on Africa over time and in print form. I made an appointment to drive to Krewinkel’s home in Haarlem, just outside Amsterdam, where the archive is housed.

            Archives, like museums, are notoriously contentious and subjective. A personal archive, such as Africa in the Photobook, is expensive to build and requires both obsession and dedication.

Krewinkel studied history in Amsterdam and was an exchange student at the University of Pretoria, South Africa. He specialized in modern Africa, writing a thesis on the role women played in the liberation struggle of Mozambique. He subsequently studied documentary photography at The Photo Academy, Amsterdam, and photographic studies at the University of Leiden, Netherlands, where he wrote a further thesis on the depiction of the so-called “poor whites” in South Africa. He views photographs as fragile historical objects and source material, in much the same way an archeologist views fossilized remains. We had an hour scheduled for our interview but ended up spending nearly three hours, interrupted only once—by the postman, delivering more photobooks. The following excerpt has been edited for length and clarity.

Azu Nwagbogu: Why the name “Africa in the Photobook”?
Ben Krewinkel: When I started collecting, my main focus was on books dealing with the struggle in Southern Africa—so in South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, and Angola. Some of the books were issued by the liberation movements, but even more by Western and Japanese photographers who were associated with supportive organizations. When the collection grew, I noticed that only a very small percentage of all the books was actually “African” in its entirety. For instance, even House of Bondage by Ernest Cole [Random House, 1967], which is excellent, was published and designed in North America and Great Britain. Nevertheless, I would consider it an African photobook, given the subject and the photographer’s origin.

I am aware that there is something really monolithic in the title, but the collection spans the whole continent and covers a timeframe of almost 150 years. The largest section consists of books by European photographers, designers, and publishers. So a title such as “African Photobooks” doesn’t do it justice. We are dealing with books by both outsiders and Africans, from and about themes on the continent. Africa in the Photobook follows the changing visual representations of the continent through this print medium and, hopefully, offers some historical perspective on various themes in African history.

AN: You aim to “decolonize” these books. How can you achieve this?
BK: Most of the books in my collection are problematic in some kind of way. I consider photographs as historical sources, and I am aware that many photographs in the past were used in a propagandistic way. The majority were produced by Europeans and were political in aim. Over 150 years, photobooks have expressed constantly changing visual representations of Africa but have also been part of the construction and circulation of ideas and fantasies about the continent and its inhabitants. Books followed the narrow, colonial, and repetitive thematic patterns that often perpetuated the binary oppositions of “self” versus “other.” Most publications produced before the 1960s were there to legitimize and promote the colonial endeavor. But colonial books are nevertheless complex and ambivalent too. One needs to ascertain why certain publications were produced and what the thinking and motives behind them were. To properly study this, you actually need to have access to the archives of photographers or publishers. More importantly, you want to have information on the sitters and the way they felt about the encounters with the photographer, to learn about the power dynamics between photographer and sitter which, in my opinion, defines whether a work is problematic or not.

AN: How does one deal with such contentious material and archives?
BK:
I’m aware that I have to treat the books and their contents very carefully. The cultural theorist Mieke Bal rightly addressed the problem of thoughtlessly republishing problematic, voyeuristic, and even painful content in many of her books. I’m still considering how to deal with this material, but it definitely needs to be contextualized. I also feel that some spreads, however problematic, need to be shown to an audience, so one can learn how these books were used and distributed, and played a role in shaping perspectives on Africa. One has to stress the fact that spreads from such books exemplify the colonial narrative but may not always represent the original intention of the photographers, some of whom were African.

Joana Choumali Hââbré: The Last Generation Fourthwall Books Johannesburg, 2016

AN: Do books on contemporary photography reflect an image of Africa that is more nuanced?
BK: For sure, but not all of them. There are still Western photographers who nostalgically recycle the old narrative and thematic patterns, and it irritates me when they claim to show me the “real Africa.” Even the Kenyan photographer Mohamed Amin and South African Peter Magubane have published books full of landscapes, wildlife, and “vanishing peoples.” Fortunately, the last decades show a growth in beautiful and nuanced books from both African and European photographers—such as Yto Barrada, A Life Full of Holes. The Strait Project [Autograph ABP, 2005]; Bruno Boudjelal, Disquiet Days [Autograph ABP, 2009]; Zanele Muholi, Faces and Phases [Prestel, 2010]; Georges Senga, Une vie après la mort [Editions du Garages Dialogues, 2013]; Terry Kurgan, Hotel Yeoville [Fourthwall Books, 2013]; John Kiyaya, Tanzania photographer and people of Lake Tanganyika (2013); and Crossing Strangers by Andile Buka [MNK Press, 2015]. Then, there are good contemporary books based on archives—such as Jacob Nzudie, Supermarket [Le Bec en l’air, 2012]; Martina Bacigalupo [ed.], Gulu Real Art Studio [Steidl, 2013]; Commonplace by Tamsyn Adams and Sophie Feyder [Fourthwall Books, 2016]; and the project Ebifananyi [YdocPublishing, 2014-17], initiated and edited by Andrea Stultiens in collaboration with African photographers and artists. And we should not to forget Santu Mofokeng’s groundbreaking Black Photo Album /Look at Me 1890–1950 [Steidl, 2013] and his recently published immense box of books, Stories [Steidl, 2019].

AN: Let’s discuss the most contentious photobooks in your archive.
BK: Wow, where to start? All of the books published before World War II (and many published in the decades following) are contentious in one way or another. The most demeaning photobooks are some of the tourist albums from Algeria, Egypt, or South Africa that show women posing in a supposedly erotic fashion. Also, Frauen des Morgenlandes [Orell Füssli Verlag, 1929] and Negertypen des schwarzen Erdteils [Orell Füssli Verlag, 1930], which were originally published in Switzerland—the latter republished in English as Negro Types [George Routledge & Sons, 1930]—are really difficult to look at because of the ignorance and racist ideology that comes through in both the texts and the photographs. Racist missionary books, such as William Taylor’s Africa Illustrated: Scenes from Daily Life on the Dark Continent [Illustrated Africa, 1895], portrayed Africans as backward, childish, and evil. There is a lot of colonial propaganda in the collection, but the driving force behind the content was dictated by the authors or initiators. The books about the Congo Free State and Belgian Congo, for example, reflect the trinity of the colonial authorities, industry, and the church. Still very racist and grounded on the binary opposition of “us” vs. “them,” even though the books left out explicitly eroticized portraits and, for the most part, deliberately excluded explicit and degrading images of Congolese suffering. Nevertheless, traces of violence are always present.

Lotte Errell Kleine Reise zu schwarzen Menschen Brehm Verlag Berlin, 1931

AN: How can photography remediate and decolonize the historiography of Africa?


BK: I think it is very important to critically revisit old colonial books. By studying them closely, we notice the endless recycling of stereotypes, dominant tropes, and thematic patterns derived from generalized ideas about the continent. However, one must realize that even these books can be easily oversimplified. For instance, from today’s perspective, one can characterize a book like Kleine Reise zu schwarzen Menschen [Brehm Verlag, 1931] as a racist colonial book. Yet it is also a book made by an independent, autonomous young Jewish woman. More importantly, unlike her contemporaries, Lotte Errell portrayed the Ewe people in a dignified manner, using an informal style. New work can also help to re-evaluate and re-address colonial photography. In Joana Choumali’s Hââbré: The Last Generation [Fourthwall Books, 2016], she subtly addresses themes, like scarification and polished teeth, that had been the main subjects of colonial photobooks as well. Hââbré goes beyond representation and gives voice and authorship to the subjects photographed. They relate the effect of scarification on their daily lives.            

J. Costa, A. Da Cruz, H. Goldstein, C. Lamote, E. Lebied, J. Makula, H. Philips, R. P. van den Heuvel, J. M. Vrijdag, et Roland d’Ursel Álbum de familia InforCongo Bruxelles, 1958
J. Costa, A. Da Cruz, H. Goldstein, C. Lamote, E. Lebied, J. Makula, H. Philips, R. P. van den Heuvel, J. M. Vrijdag, et Roland d’Ursel Álbum de familia InforCongo Bruxelles, 1958

Retrospectively, we can discover important aspects that were unintentionally included in the books, for example, the small book Álbum de familia [InforCongo, 1958], which was distributed at the 1958 Brussels World’s Fair, where the Belgian Congo played a major role in the propagandist efforts of the colonial authorities. It was produced by the photographers of InforCongo, who were European as well as Congolese—as in the case of Joseph Makula. The book consists of a systematic juxtaposition of nearly identical scenes capturing Black Africans in the Congo and white Belgians in the metropole. Following a hypocritical humanistic narrative, the book insists on the closeness of everyday life in Belgium and in the Congo and stresses the Family of Man vision of “familial” ties between the Belgians and the Congolese. In reality, the Congolese that are depicted were part of an elite called the évolués, which constituted an extremely small section of the Congolese population. The world’s fair, and this book, marked the beginning of independence and the decolonization process in Belgian Congo.

Diby Yao Christophe Du twist à Cocody, ou l’art de la natte Éditions Dalfoz Paris, 1972
Diby Yao Christophe Du twist à Cocody, ou l’art de la natte Éditions Dalfoz Paris, 1972

AN: One of my favorite books and definitely a discovery for me in your collection is Du twist à cocody, ou l’art de la natte by Diby Yao Christophe [Éditions Dalfoz, 1972]. What a beautiful volume, and the poem at the end is really telling and poignant. It’s a book that speaks to the value of your collection as one that also highlights and revives largely unknown African voices. What have you learned about this remarkable book?
BK: Yes, indeed. Du twist à cocody, ou l’art de la natte is a great book from the Ivory Coast. The book was printed in France and the text is bilingual, but I’m not sure who Christophe’s audience was, nor do I know anything about the photographer. This book deals with hairstyles and reminds me very much of the work by J. D. ‘Okhai Ojeikere, but the photographic style is more informal. The women portrayed are much more at ease than women portrayed by colonials. It is a refreshing take on the topic, and I think you can consider this book as a reaction to colonialism and neocolonialism. The author writes: “Why do some of our stylish women prefere [sic] bleached hair or wigs to genuine African creations? [. . .] I meet many of you who pretend to be European, trying to dress and act like white women. Oh, my Black sisters, why are you trying to forget that you are African?”

Photography by Ben Krewinkel

This interview was published in Issue 018 of The Photobook Review, fall 2020, co-published by Aperture and Delpire & Co.

INSTALLATION

Theaster Gates
The Black Image Corporation

ON THE OCCASION OF THE LAUNCHING OF THE PHOTOBOOK REVIEW 018, DELPIRE & CO PROPOSES AN INSTALLATION OF THE PUBLICATION BY THEASTER GATES GATHERING THE ARCHIVES OF THE MAGAZINES JET AND EBONY

LAUNCH

THE PHOTOBOOK REVIEW

ISSUE 018, GUEST-EDITED BY Dr. DEBORAH WILLIS, AFRICAN-AMERICAN ARTIST, AUTHOR AND CURATOR IS AVAILABLE AT DELPIRE & CO

ENTRETIEN
THE PHOTOBOOK REVIEW

AFRICA in the PhotoBook
Azu Nwagbogu—Ben Krewinkel

Azu Nwagbogu est le fondateur et le directeur du festival LagosPhoto et de la African Artists’ Foundation, une association basée à Lagos (Nigeria) et dédiée à la promotion et au développement des arts et des artistes contemporains en Afrique. Il a également créé le concours National Art Competition au Nigeria et l’espace virtuel Art Base Africa.


Ma première rencontre avec Ben Krewinkel a eu lieu à Lagos, au Nigeria, lorsqu’il exposait à l’édition 2015 du festival LagosPhoto. La commissaire invitée, Cristina de Middel, avait sélectionné son œuvre Looking for M. (édition f0.23, 2013), ouvrage intelligent et savamment agencé qui met en regard des images d’archives évoquant l’idéologie révolutionnaire marxiste-léniniste du Mozambique et les réalités capitalistes contemporaines rencontrées dans les paysages urbains et panneaux publicitaires de Maputo. À l’époque, en 2015, le catalogue en ligne de livres photo sur l’Afrique constitué par Krewinkel n’en était qu’à ses débuts, et disponible uniquement sur Facebook.

En août 2020, je me retrouve à Amsterdam, impatient de découvrir comment son catalogue aujourd’hui reconnu avait pu passer du statut de simple page Facebook à celui de référence incontournable problématisant le discours sur les représentations visuelles imprimées de l’Afrique au fil du temps. Je prends donc rendez-vous avec Krewinkel à son domicile de Haarlem, une ville toute proche d’Amsterdam, où sont conservées ses archives.

Krewinkel a étudié l’histoire à Amsterdam et participe à un programme d’échange avec l’Université de Pretoria, en Afrique du Sud. Il se spécialise dans l’Afrique moderne et rédige une thèse sur le rôle des femmes dans la lutte de libération du Mozambique. Il étudie ensuite la photographie documentaire à la Photo Academy d’Amsterdam, puis entame des études photographiques à l’Université de Leiden, aux Pays-Bas, où il rédige une seconde thèse sur la représentation des soi-disant « blancs pauvres » d’Afrique du Sud. Il envisage les photos comme des artéfacts historiques, matériaux-sources fragiles, à la manière d’un archéologue qui observe des restes fossilisés. L’entretien est prévu pour durer une heure, mais c’est près de trois heures que nous passons ensemble, interrompus une seule fois – par le facteur, qui venait livrer de nouveaux livres photo.

Azu Nwagbogu : Pourquoi avez-vous intitulé la collection « Africa in the Photobook » ?
Ben Krewinkel : Quand j’ai entamé cette collection, je me suis surtout intéressé aux ouvrages consacrés aux luttes en Afrique australe – Afrique du Sud, Zimbabwe, Mozambique et Angola. Certains de ces livres ont été publiés par les mouvements de libération eux-mêmes, mais plus souvent par des photographes occidentaux ou japonais associés à des organisations qui les soutenaient. Quand j’ai commencé à l’élargir, j’ai constaté que seul un très faible pourcentage de livres pouvait être considéré comme intégralement « africain ». Le House of Bondage d’Ernest Cole lui-même [Random House, 1967], par ailleurs excellent, a été conçu et publié en Amérique du Nord et en Grande-Bretagne. Je l’ai pourtant considéré comme un livre photo africain, vu son sujet et l’origine du photographe.

Je suis bien conscient que ce titre a un côté très monolithique, mais la collection concerne l’ensemble du continent sur une période de près de 150 ans. Et elle est en majeure partie constituée de livres de photographes, designers et éditeurs européens : l’appeler « African Photobooks » n’aurait pas reflété la réalité. Il s’agit de livres réalisés à la fois par des étrangers et des Africains, dont le sujet et la provenance couvrent le continent tout entier. Africa in the Photobook retrace l’évolution des représentations visuelles du continent à travers ce support imprimé pour, je l’espère, apporter une perspective historique sur différents thèmes de l’histoire africaine.

AN : Vous avez pour objectif de « décoloniser » ces livres. Comment comptez-vous y parvenir ?
BK : La plupart des livres de ma collection sont problématiques d’une façon ou d’une autre. Je considère ces photographies comme des sources historiques, en étant parfaitement conscient que dans le passé, nombres d’entre elles ont été utilisées à des fins de propagande. La plupart ont été produites par des Européens poursuivant des objectifs politiques. Tout au long de ces 150 ans, les livres photo ont véhiculé des représentations visuelles de l’Afrique en constante évolution, mais ont également participé à l’édification et à la dissémination d’idées et de fantasmes sur le continent et ses habitants. Ces ouvrages répondent à des modèles thématiques étriqués, coloniaux et répétitifs perpétuant souvent l’opposition manichéenne du « soi » et de « l’autre ». La plupart des publications antérieures aux années 1960 avaient pour rôle de légitimer et de promouvoir l’effort colonial. Ces livres coloniaux restent pourtant complexes et ambivalents : il faut donc déterminer la raison d’être de certaines publications, quelles réflexions et motivations les sous-tendent. Pour mener à bien ces recherches, il faut en fait avoir accès aux archives des photographes ou des maisons d’édition. Plus important encore, il faut disposer d’informations sur les modèles, sur leur ressenti de la rencontre avec le photographe, en savoir plus sur la dynamique de pouvoir entre le photographe et le modèle qui, à mon sens, permet de définir si une œuvre est ou non problématique.

AN : Comment peut-on aborder ces documents et archives si controversés ?
BK : Je suis conscient que je dois traiter les livres et leur contenu avec le plus grand soin. La théoricienne de la culture Mieke Bal a fort bien abordé le problème de la republication inconsidérée de contenus problématiques, voyeuristes, douloureux même dans nombre de ses livres. Je continue à m’interroger sur la manière de gérer cette matière, mais elle doit de toute façon être contextualisée. Je pense également que certaines publications, aussi problématiques soient-elles, méritent d’être montrées à un public, pour lui faire comprendre comment ces livres ont été utilisés, distribués, et quel rôle ils ont joué dans l’élaboration d’une vision de l’Afrique. Il faut insister sur le fait que les illustrations de ces livres incarnent un récit colonial, même si elles ne reflètent pas toujours l’intention originale des photographes, dont certains étaient africains.

Joana Choumali Hââbré: The Last Generation Fourthwall Books Johannesburg, 2016

AN : Les livres photo contemporains donnent-ils une image plus nuancée de l’Afrique ?
BK : Bien sûr, mais pas tous. Il y a encore des photographes occidentaux qui ressassent avec nostalgie de vieux schémas narratifs et thématiques, et cela m’agace quand ils prétendent me montrer la « vraie Afrique ». Même des photographes africains, comme le kényan Mohamed Amin ou le sud-africain Peter Magubane, publient des livres remplis de paysages, d’animaux sauvages et de « peuples en voie de disparition ». Fort heureusement, les dernières décennies nous ont apporté un nombre croissant de livres magnifiques et nuancés de photographes africains et européens : citons Yto Barrada, A Life Full of Holes. The Strait Project [Autograph ABP, 2005] ; Bruno Boudjelal, Disquiet Days [Autograph ABP, 2009] ; Zanele Muholi, Faces and Phases [Prestel, 2010] ; Georges Senga, Une vie après la mort [Editions du Garage – Dialogues, 2013] ; Terry Kurgan, Hotel Yeoville [Fourthwall Books, 2013] ; John Kiyaya, Tanzania Photographer and People of Lake Tanganyika [Mkuki na Nyota Publishers Ltd., 2013] ; ou encore Crossing Strangers d’Andile Buka [MNK Press, 2015]. Il existe aussi de bons livres contemporains basés sur des archives – comme le Supermarket de Jacob Nzudie [Le Bec en l’air, 2012] ; Gulu Real Art Studio [Steidl, 2013] édité par Martina Bacigalupo ; Commonplace de Tamsyn Adams et Sophie Feyder [Fourthwall Books, 2016] ; ou le projet Ebifananyi [YdocPublishing, 2014-17], initié et édité par Andrea Stultiens en collaboration avec des photographes et artistes africains. Sans oublier le révolutionnaire Black Photo Album/Look at Me 1890–1950 de Santu Mofokeng [Steidl, 2013] et Stories, son immense coffret de livres récemment paru [Steidl, 2019].

AN : Parlons maintenant des livres photo les plus controversés de vos archives.
BK : Ah ! Par où commencer ? Tous les livres publiés avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale (et nombre d’ouvrages des décennies suivantes) sont controversés d’une manière ou d’une autre. Parmi les livres photo les plus humiliants, on trouve certains albums touristiques d’Algérie, d’Égypte ou d’Afrique du Sud qui montrent des femmes dans des poses lascives prétendument érotiques. Il y a aussi Frauen des Morgenlandes [Orell Füssli Verlag, 1929] et Negertypen des schwarzen Erdteils [Orell Füssli Verlag, 1930], initialement publiés en Suisse – ce dernier réédité en anglais sous le nom de Negro Types [George Routledge & Sons, 1930] – qui sont véritablement difficiles à regarder tant l’ignorance crasse et l’idéologie raciste y transparaissent, à la fois dans les textes et les illustrations. Certains ouvrages missionnaires racistes, comme Africa Illustrated: Scenes from Daily Life on the Dark Continent [Africa Illustrated, 1895] de William Taylor, dépeignent les Africains comme arriérés, enfantins et méchants. La collection comprend énormément de propagande coloniale, mais ce qui motive le contenu y est dicté par les auteurs ou les commanditaires. Les livres consacrés à l’État indépendant du Congo et au Congo belge, par exemple, reflètent la trinité autorités coloniales / industrie / église. Ces livrent restent très racistes, fondés sur l’opposition binaire « nous » contre « eux », même s’ils ne comportent plus de portraits volontairement érotisés et, dans l’ensemble, excluent délibérément les images explicites ou dégradantes de la souffrance des Congolais. On continue pourtant à y déceler des traces de violence.

Lotte Errell Kleine Reise zu schwarzen Menschen Brehm Verlag Berlin, 1931

AN : En quoi la photographie peut-elle servir à rectifier et à décoloniser l’historiographie de l’Afrique ?
BK : Je pense qu’il est très important de porter un regard critique sur les vieux livres coloniaux. À y regarder de plus près, on ne peut que constater qu’ils recyclent sans fin les stéréotypes, clichés dominants et modèles thématiques découlant d’idées reçues sur le continent. Il faut pourtant, même avec ce genre de livres, éviter les pièges d’une simplification à l’extrême. Par exemple, observé au prisme de notre époque, on dira d’un livre comme Kleine Reise zu schwarzen Menschen [Brehm Verlag, 1931] qu’il est colonialiste et raciste, alors que c’est aussi un livre réalisé par une jeune femme juive indépendante et autonome. Plus intéressant encore, contrairement à ses contemporains, Lotte Errell dépeint le peuple Ewe avec dignité, et son style est informel. Certains travaux récents peuvent également aider à réévaluer la photographie coloniale. Dans Hââbré: The Last Generation [Fourthwall Books, 2016] Joana Choumali aborde avec délicatesse certains thèmes, comme la scarification ou le polissage des dents, qui avaient déjà servi de sujet principal à des livres photo coloniaux. Hââbré dépasse la représentation : elle donne une voix, une autorité aux sujets photographiés, qui racontent les effets de la scarification sur leur vie quotidienne.

J. Costa, A. Da Cruz, H. Goldstein, C. Lamote, E. Lebied, J. Makula, H. Philips, R. P. van den Heuvel, J. M. Vrijdag, et Roland d’Ursel Álbum de familia InforCongo Bruxelles, 1958
J. Costa, A. Da Cruz, H. Goldstein, C. Lamote, E. Lebied, J. Makula, H. Philips, R. P. van den Heuvel, J. M. Vrijdag, et Roland d’Ursel Álbum de familia InforCongo Bruxelles, 1958

Avec le recul, on peut aussi déceler des sujets importants involontairement évoqués dans certains livres, comme par exemple le petit livre Álbum de familia [InforCongo, 1958], distribué lors de l’Exposition universelle de Bruxelles en 1958, où le Congo belge joue un rôle majeur dans l’effort de propagande des autorités coloniales. Il a été réalisé par les photographes d’InforCongo, européens mais aussi congolais, comme c’est le cas pour Joseph Makula. Le livre consiste en une juxtaposition systématique de scènes quasiment identiques mettant en regard des africains Noirs au Congo et des Belges blancs en Métropole. Suivant un récit humaniste mais hypocrite, le livre insiste sur la proximité de la vie quotidienne en Belgique et au Congo et exprime une vision très Family of Man des liens « familiaux » qui unissent les Belges et les Congolais. En réalité, les Congolais représentés sont issus d’une élite, baptisée « évolués », qui ne représente qu’une infime partie de la population. L’Exposition universelle, et cet ouvrage, marquent en fait les débuts de l’indépendance et du processus de décolonisation au Congo belge.

Diby Yao Christophe Du twist à Cocody, ou l’art de la natte Éditions Dalfoz Paris, 1972
Diby Yao Christophe Du twist à Cocody, ou l’art de la natte Éditions Dalfoz Paris, 1972

AN : Un de mes livres préférés de votre collection, une véritable découverte pour moi, est Du twist à Cocody, ou l’art de la natte de Diby Yao Christophe [Éditions Dalfoz, 1972]. Quel bel ouvrage ! Le poème de la fin est vraiment expressif et émouvant. C’est un livre qui témoigne de la valeur de votre collection en ce qu’elle valorise et ravive des expressions africaines largement méconnues. Que savez-vous de ce livre remarquable ?

BK : Oui, en effet. Du twist à Cocody, ou l’art de la natte est un grand livre ivoirien. Le livre a été imprimé en France et son texte est bilingue, mais je ne sais pas vraiment à qui s’adressait ce Christophe, et j’ignore tout du photographe. Le livre parle de coiffures ; il me rappelle beaucoup le travail de J. D. ‘Okhai Ojeikere, même si le style photographique est ici plus informel. On sent les femmes représentées beaucoup plus à l’aise que les femmes figurant dans les livres coloniaux. Le livre propose une vision rafraîchissante du sujet, et je dirais qu’on peut le voir comme une réaction au colonialisme et au néocolonialisme. L’auteur y écrit : « Pourquoi certaines de nos femmes élégantes préfèrent-elles les cheveux ou les perruques décolorés aux véritables créations africaines ? [. . .] J’en vois beaucoup parmi vous qui font semblant d’être européennes, qui essayent de s’habiller et de se comporter comme des femmes blanches. Oh, mes sœurs noires, pourquoi cherchez-vous à oublier que vous êtes africaines ? »

Photographies de Ben Krewinkel.

Cet entretien a paru dans le n° 018 de The PhotoBook Review, automne 2020, co-éditée par Aperture et Delpire & Co.

INSTALLATION

Theaster Gates
The Black Image Corporation

A L'OCCASION DU LANCEMENT DE THE PHOTOBOOK REVIEW 018, DELPIRE & CO PROPOSE UNE INSTALLATION DE LA PUBLICATION DE L'ARTISTE THEASTER GATES REGROUPANT LES ARCHIVES DES MAGAZINES JET ET EBONY

lancement

THE PHOTOBOOK REVIEW

THE PHOTOBOOK REVIEW N°18, ÉDITÉ SOUS LA DIRECTION DE DEBORAH WILLIS, ARTISTE, AUTEURE ET COMMISSAIRE D'EXPOSITION AFRO-AMÉRICAINE EST DISPONIBLE À DELPIRE & CO.